Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Super tasty (used bisquick) and added salt to the finished product after fried. i like it and will make this simple 'zucchini pancake' again. however i gave it only 4 because it is unhealthy. i was able to make them but the last batch burned b/c they cook very very fast (faster on outside than in). definitely recommend u give this 1 a try. can be served with a variey of dpping sauces too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Excellent! Our new favorite recipe for the oodles of zucchini we grow in the summer! These have great taste, and are even easier than potato pancakes to make. I made them twice in one week they are so good! I tried something similar with flour instead of the baking mix but they didn't taste nearly as good. The baking mix complements the zucchini well, and browns the puffs just like a pancake. I much prefer the baking mix over the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I didn't love these. I had my hopes way up for a good idea to use up my over-abundant zucchini. It's something different, but these puffs have the potential to soak up a ton of oil (mine did). I cut one open when I thought it was well done and it was still gooey inside. You need to fry them until they are really dark so the inside gets cooked (see the pictures of how dark they look). They definitely need that extra sprinkle of salt when they come out of the fryer!! I don't know if I'll be making them again. My husband liked them, but I think only because they were something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovethemuffinman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carebear1982
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Just made these and they are fabulous! I've read some complaints of too bland, everyone's tastes are different and I don't think any recipe should get less stars for seasonings alone. I put salt, pepper, dried onion flakes (cause I can't stand raw onion crunch and I was afraid they wouldn't get cooked enough), minced garlic, salt and pepper, just like the recipe calls for but to my own taste and they are delicious!! My only complaint is that I only used one zucchini and one yellow squash and I still have a kitchen FULL of the stuff!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yummy! First time I ever fried anything and I still managed to get it right. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very good! An excellent way to use up zucchini from your garden. I squeezed the extra liquid out of the zucchini and added seasoned salt to the batter. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
OMG !! These puffs were awesome and not even a big mess when frying! I added Muenster cheese to the batch and they came out very tasty. Thank you Anna and a few other reviewers for hints on adds on of extras. Molto buoni !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueItalian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These were good. I used self rising flour instead of baking mix. They were a little bland the first time I made them, but my kids liked them dipped in ketchup. I added a little shredded sharp cheddar to the next batch I made, and that helped the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These were awesome. What a great way to use up all that shredded zucchini I freeze and then rarely use. The kids loved them dipped in ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe at a family gathering and it was a major success! I added in a yellow squash and a lot more eggs because the mixture was really dry but they went great! In fact I've been dreaming of them and so will make them tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States