Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
So I made four puffs as the recipe stated - frying them in hot oil - and they were yummy. They remind me of a hush puppy because they are more doughy more than zucchini-ish. Anyway, I do not own a deep fryer, and in a hurry, I just threw some oil in my cast iron skillet and tried to "deep" fry them that way. I ended up with a LOT of hot oil splatter, so I gave up on the frying and then dumped the remaining batter, along with a little shredded asiago cheese, into a greased pie plate and threw it in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes. This made an interesting dish - not eggy enough to be a quiche, and not dense enough to be a scone or biscuit, but something in between. It, too, was pretty good. Four stars because the batter does lack a bit of seasoning - the salt at the end saves it - the cheese is definitely a nice addition. My preferred recipe for zucchini cakes or fritters is "Zucchini Patties" from this site. Little more zucchini, less flour...Also good made with corn and red pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I wanted a new zucchini recipe and decided on this one. Sorry, just not as good as I had hoped. I added the cheese and extra salt. Still tasted too much like the baking mix, which is bland. I have a much better recipe using a shredded medium zucchini, potato, carrot and onion with only 3/4c flour. So much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was a huge hit with the kids, and I really liked them also. Not so great reheated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Super tasty (used bisquick) and added salt to the finished product after fried. i like it and will make this simple 'zucchini pancake' again. however i gave it only 4 because it is unhealthy. i was able to make them but the last batch burned b/c they cook very very fast (faster on outside than in). definitely recommend u give this 1 a try. can be served with a variey of dpping sauces too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Excellent! Our new favorite recipe for the oodles of zucchini we grow in the summer! These have great taste, and are even easier than potato pancakes to make. I made them twice in one week they are so good! I tried something similar with flour instead of the baking mix but they didn't taste nearly as good. The baking mix complements the zucchini well, and browns the puffs just like a pancake. I much prefer the baking mix over the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I didn't love these. I had my hopes way up for a good idea to use up my over-abundant zucchini. It's something different, but these puffs have the potential to soak up a ton of oil (mine did). I cut one open when I thought it was well done and it was still gooey inside. You need to fry them until they are really dark so the inside gets cooked (see the pictures of how dark they look). They definitely need that extra sprinkle of salt when they come out of the fryer!! I don't know if I'll be making them again. My husband liked them, but I think only because they were something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovethemuffinman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carebear1982
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Just made these and they are fabulous! I've read some complaints of too bland, everyone's tastes are different and I don't think any recipe should get less stars for seasonings alone. I put salt, pepper, dried onion flakes (cause I can't stand raw onion crunch and I was afraid they wouldn't get cooked enough), minced garlic, salt and pepper, just like the recipe calls for but to my own taste and they are delicious!! My only complaint is that I only used one zucchini and one yellow squash and I still have a kitchen FULL of the stuff!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yummy! First time I ever fried anything and I still managed to get it right. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very good! An excellent way to use up zucchini from your garden. I squeezed the extra liquid out of the zucchini and added seasoned salt to the batter. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
OMG !! These puffs were awesome and not even a big mess when frying! I added Muenster cheese to the batch and they came out very tasty. Thank you Anna and a few other reviewers for hints on adds on of extras. Molto buoni !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueItalian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States