Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This recipe is SOOO good. My husband nearly devoured the whole batch. The secret is to add a generous pinch of salt to the batter before frying. Seriously, try this recipe; it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
These are good! You can use plain flour in stead of buttermilk mix. I've made these three times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Excellent and easy! My husband and I love these. To make them healthier and full of more flavor we use "Hodgson Mills Whole Grain Insta-Bake Buttermilk Mix". I was out of onion one day and added a handful of freshly grated Parmasan Cheese...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I am giving this four stars because it really is a brilliant start. My problem is the same as others have stated...they are quite bland. Just made them and I am really pleased with how they puffed, the texture, color...however even with onion and garlic they really lack something. So, as I have pondered away, I am thinking of trying them again with grated Parmesan, possibly fresh cut corn, something to give it some more flavor...not certain what spices I would want to add to kick it up...don't want them hot as that is not to our liking....tho some might appreciate that. Some kind of dipping sauce, an Aoli of some kind might be nice. For now I would definitely say try these, but keep in mind they are really bland as written, so use your imagination....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I am totally impressed with these. They were tremendously fluffy and light, with a mild flavor. I had to use up some rather too-large yellow squash, so I seeded and peeled them before grating. The baking mix I had wasn't 'buttermilk', it was the regular kind (a heart-healthy version, though). I ended up just frying them in my regular deep fryer rather than using a pan, and they turned into fritters sort of like a hush puppy but without the cornmeal. Of course they made far too many for my family, so we will end up baking them to reheat them and recrisp them tomorrow. I used an ice cream disher to portion the batter. These did like hush puppies should, they turned themselves over when they were ready to flip. I would caution against overcooking, as they will get greasy if you leave them in the oil too long. I did mine for about 3 minutes at 350F, and that might have been a touch long, though they were still moist inside. Hubby really loved these. My 5 year old daughter ate one and liked it. Definitely going to use this one again, perhaps with some herbs next time to go with the garlic and onion. Cheese might be good too, but might make them greasier. I expect you could use egg whites instead of whole eggs to lighten them a little more. Really a great, simple recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
really good. I added 1/2 cup grated marble cheese, and used 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1tsp baking power instead of the buttermilk baking mix. lots of pepper and salt and then a small sprinkle of salt on top when done. (I pan fried mine in a little oil instead of deepfrying and they were still nice and crispy on the outside and fluffy inside!) very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Big hit at potluck. I made them and immediately went to the party. Extremely easy to fry in a sauce pan. They stayed crispy for 2 hours. Tasted great at room temp too. Served with Chipotle Cream sauce: Combine in a food processor: 3 cloves roasted garlic (wrap unpeeled cloves in foil, bake 20 minutes at 350) 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 T mayo, 1 T chopped canned chipotle peppers (add up to 2 T if you like heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
These are so easy and quick. They are also fairly flexible. I only had one egg the second time I made these, and they came out just fine. I have also used both plain flour and baking mix and it turns out great either way. Everyone enjoys these, too - my husband hovering as I cook them, waiting for them to be ready, to the 2 yr old, who refused everything else at dinner and ate only zucchini puffs. I can't wait until the zucchini in the garden is ready - I have been buying a lot of zucchini in order to make these. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Very goo and so easy. I did add about 1 cup finely grated cheddar cheese. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was great for using yellow zucchini from our garden. My fiance does not like zucchini, but he loved these. While I was making them I opened my fridge for something and saw mushrooms, and had an idea, to coat the mushrooms in the batter then fry them. They were YUMMY! Then I did the same with broccoli and green beans, sort of like tempura. Delicious! So this recipe can work by itself for the puff or as a tempura type batter. Thanks for posting it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngloSaxonGyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States