Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I substituted onions with parmesean/romano cheese and used gluten free all purpose flour instead of the buttermilk baking mix and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evbevere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was great for using yellow zucchini from our garden. My fiance does not like zucchini, but he loved these. While I was making them I opened my fridge for something and saw mushrooms, and had an idea, to coat the mushrooms in the batter then fry them. They were YUMMY! Then I did the same with broccoli and green beans, sort of like tempura. Delicious! So this recipe can work by itself for the puff or as a tempura type batter. Thanks for posting it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngloSaxonGyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I am giving this four stars because it really is a brilliant start. My problem is the same as others have stated...they are quite bland. Just made them and I am really pleased with how they puffed, the texture, color...however even with onion and garlic they really lack something. So, as I have pondered away, I am thinking of trying them again with grated Parmesan, possibly fresh cut corn, something to give it some more flavor...not certain what spices I would want to add to kick it up...don't want them hot as that is not to our liking....tho some might appreciate that. Some kind of dipping sauce, an Aoli of some kind might be nice. For now I would definitely say try these, but keep in mind they are really bland as written, so use your imagination....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious. I prepared these using a regular biscuit/pancake baking mix (not buttermilk). I added about a teaspoon of salt, a teaspoon of pepper and a teaspoon of a no-salt all-purpose herb blend. Still, they were a bit bland. Perhaps the next time I prepare them I will add hot pepper sauce to the batter. Still, these were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
good but very rich tasting i could only eat a couple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charleston Mom of 2
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wow, what a great recipe. They were so delicious and light and fluffy. My 2 boys even liked them and they had no idea there was Zucchini in them. I will definitely make them again. I did however cook them a little longer being that I like them a little more crispy. Excellent way to cook Zucchini and have my children and husband eat it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made these for my husband and I and will not be making them again. They have a good texture and brown nicely when cooking but lack taste. I thought them to be very blan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These are delicious. Just another way to sneak in some veggies (even though they are fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Big hit at potluck. I made them and immediately went to the party. Extremely easy to fry in a sauce pan. They stayed crispy for 2 hours. Tasted great at room temp too. Served with Chipotle Cream sauce: Combine in a food processor: 3 cloves roasted garlic (wrap unpeeled cloves in foil, bake 20 minutes at 350) 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 T mayo, 1 T chopped canned chipotle peppers (add up to 2 T if you like heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
YUM! YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States