Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious. I prepared these using a regular biscuit/pancake baking mix (not buttermilk). I added about a teaspoon of salt, a teaspoon of pepper and a teaspoon of a no-salt all-purpose herb blend. Still, they were a bit bland. Perhaps the next time I prepare them I will add hot pepper sauce to the batter. Still, these were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
good but very rich tasting i could only eat a couple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charleston Mom of 2
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wow, what a great recipe. They were so delicious and light and fluffy. My 2 boys even liked them and they had no idea there was Zucchini in them. I will definitely make them again. I did however cook them a little longer being that I like them a little more crispy. Excellent way to cook Zucchini and have my children and husband eat it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made these for my husband and I and will not be making them again. They have a good texture and brown nicely when cooking but lack taste. I thought them to be very blan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These are delicious. Just another way to sneak in some veggies (even though they are fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Big hit at potluck. I made them and immediately went to the party. Extremely easy to fry in a sauce pan. They stayed crispy for 2 hours. Tasted great at room temp too. Served with Chipotle Cream sauce: Combine in a food processor: 3 cloves roasted garlic (wrap unpeeled cloves in foil, bake 20 minutes at 350) 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 T mayo, 1 T chopped canned chipotle peppers (add up to 2 T if you like heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
YUM! YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I am totally impressed with these. They were tremendously fluffy and light, with a mild flavor. I had to use up some rather too-large yellow squash, so I seeded and peeled them before grating. The baking mix I had wasn't 'buttermilk', it was the regular kind (a heart-healthy version, though). I ended up just frying them in my regular deep fryer rather than using a pan, and they turned into fritters sort of like a hush puppy but without the cornmeal. Of course they made far too many for my family, so we will end up baking them to reheat them and recrisp them tomorrow. I used an ice cream disher to portion the batter. These did like hush puppies should, they turned themselves over when they were ready to flip. I would caution against overcooking, as they will get greasy if you leave them in the oil too long. I did mine for about 3 minutes at 350F, and that might have been a touch long, though they were still moist inside. Hubby really loved these. My 5 year old daughter ate one and liked it. Definitely going to use this one again, perhaps with some herbs next time to go with the garlic and onion. Cheese might be good too, but might make them greasier. I expect you could use egg whites instead of whole eggs to lighten them a little more. Really a great, simple recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These are scrumptious! Reminded us of our favorite seafood restaurant at the beach. A great way to use all of the abundant zucchini in the summer. Did add a little more salt and pepper to the batter for a little more zip. Doubled the recipe and ate them for two day! My daughter even requested them for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We all really loved these! They reminded us of Hush Puppies! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States