Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent starter recipe for any combo of vegetables. I used summer squash (yellow) and diced it fine along with 1/3 cup minced onion, and a very large garlic clove. I substituted salt and pepper with Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper. You can use any buttermilk pancake batter with this. It is a generous 6 servings. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Oh My! Delicious! Very, very good! Made recipe as written. Again, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love garlic and onions, so I doubled the onions and actually used 6 gloves of garlic. Used WW flour (didn't have the buttermilk mix). Hubby and 14month old LOVED them. Great use of over-abundant zucchini. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I shredded the zucchini and kept pressing it between paper towels, changing the towels as they became wet for about an hour. I used 1 tsp. garlic and onion powder instead of the real thing (cuz that's what I had on hand). The batter was thick so I added just enough milk to loosen it up - maybe 1/4 cup at most. Fried them in my deep fryer and they were FANTASTIC! I served them with pork ribs that I had barbequed. The puffs were nice and fluffy and had a savory flavor. What really surprised me was how good they were cold! I had 4 left over and wasn't sure what I was going to do with them so I left them in a covered basket. About an hour later, I wanted a little something to munch on - these were great! My husband and I ended up finishing them off. This is wonderful alternative to the usual recipes for zucchini - will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
So I made four puffs as the recipe stated - frying them in hot oil - and they were yummy. They remind me of a hush puppy because they are more doughy more than zucchini-ish. Anyway, I do not own a deep fryer, and in a hurry, I just threw some oil in my cast iron skillet and tried to "deep" fry them that way. I ended up with a LOT of hot oil splatter, so I gave up on the frying and then dumped the remaining batter, along with a little shredded asiago cheese, into a greased pie plate and threw it in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes. This made an interesting dish - not eggy enough to be a quiche, and not dense enough to be a scone or biscuit, but something in between. It, too, was pretty good. Four stars because the batter does lack a bit of seasoning - the salt at the end saves it - the cheese is definitely a nice addition. My preferred recipe for zucchini cakes or fritters is "Zucchini Patties" from this site. Little more zucchini, less flour...Also good made with corn and red pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I wanted a new zucchini recipe and decided on this one. Sorry, just not as good as I had hoped. I added the cheese and extra salt. Still tasted too much like the baking mix, which is bland. I have a much better recipe using a shredded medium zucchini, potato, carrot and onion with only 3/4c flour. So much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was a huge hit with the kids, and I really liked them also. Not so great reheated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Super tasty (used bisquick) and added salt to the finished product after fried. i like it and will make this simple 'zucchini pancake' again. however i gave it only 4 because it is unhealthy. i was able to make them but the last batch burned b/c they cook very very fast (faster on outside than in). definitely recommend u give this 1 a try. can be served with a variey of dpping sauces too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Excellent! Our new favorite recipe for the oodles of zucchini we grow in the summer! These have great taste, and are even easier than potato pancakes to make. I made them twice in one week they are so good! I tried something similar with flour instead of the baking mix but they didn't taste nearly as good. The baking mix complements the zucchini well, and browns the puffs just like a pancake. I much prefer the baking mix over the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I didn't love these. I had my hopes way up for a good idea to use up my over-abundant zucchini. It's something different, but these puffs have the potential to soak up a ton of oil (mine did). I cut one open when I thought it was well done and it was still gooey inside. You need to fry them until they are really dark so the inside gets cooked (see the pictures of how dark they look). They definitely need that extra sprinkle of salt when they come out of the fryer!! I don't know if I'll be making them again. My husband liked them, but I think only because they were something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovethemuffinman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States