Zucchini Pizza Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
this recipe can be also found on tasteofhome.com. It has a few additions like olives. The original recipe used cheddar instead of Monterey Jack. I like that better I think. Needs a bit of spice like garlic & red pepper flakes. etc. I like to add in some fennel because it gives a sausage flavor without adding salt. ( almost all sausage has some fennel in it.) A little pepperoni added gives a nice pop of flavor also... but just a little. Basically, you can add anything you like that you would normally put on the pizza. Even people who don't like zucchini have told me they'll eat it this way...so it might be a way to get your kids to eat a few more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bottomz
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great recipe! I used prosciutto, turkey bacon, and pepperoni instead of ground beef and I used more Mozzarella and Parmesan cheese instead of Monterey Jack. I think it would taste great served over penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the other suggestions and added garlic to the meat I didn't use onion (allergy) I didn't dry the zucchini either. This was fantastic, sort of like a vegetable lasagna. Pizza is the wrong name but it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I am recently retired and doing more "from scratch" cooking. I found a recipe very similar to this in one of our local papers and tried it. It called for ground turkey and shredded cheddar instead of the Monterey Jack. I also added pepperoni and black olives to the toppings list. We really enjoyed this casserole. I took some to my mom and she loved it. Will definitely make it again. I am loving allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
MADE IT EXACTLY AS WRITTEN and it's a keeper! The entire family loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a family favorite!! I've got 3 kids under the age of 10 and although my husband and I do enjoy spice, my kids do not (they think mint is spicy). SO, that being said, this is such a versatile dish - you can keep as is or spice up. I omit the olives and the dish is PERFECT as it is! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this a couple of times, with some modifications for our taste. I used turkey Italian sweet sausage instead of the ground beef, tomato basil marinara sauce (Trader Joe's from a jar) instead of the canned tomato sauce, and since my husband really likes Hawaiian pizza, I used chopped fresh pineapple instead of the veggie toppings. He's not a big zucchini fan, but he liked this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Have a ton of zucchini, and wanted to make something new. Hubby loved it, so made it when the grandkids were here for the weekend. Even the super picky one asked if he could take the leftovers home! I drained the zucchini in cheesecloth so I could squeeze the liquid out easier. I did vary the type of cheese to what I had on hand. A great recipe that can be easily changed to fit your tastes and pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. The dish was very tasty. It is more of a casserole than a pizza, but the pizza flavor is definitely present. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
The original sauce was BLAND, but I perked it up with garlic, a touch of brown sugar, salt, and oregano. It was fantastic. I also added garlic to the "crust", and it came out great. I cooked it on "convection" to firm up the top of the "crust" a little. (5 stars with my changes, 4 for the original recipe because I would not have thought to do this) My family loooooved this, and it will go into our regular rotation. I topped with olives & pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States