Zucchini Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was fabulous. I made 4 because I has so much zucchini. I gave 3 away. Everyone raved! I got 12 out of 10 for the pie. I modified it by adding 6 cups zucchini and doing a streusel topping instead of a second pie crust. The streusel topping is 1/2 c. butter, 3/4 c. four, 3/4 c. rolled oats, 1/2 c. br. sugar and 1 tbls cinnamon. Mix until crumbly. Follow baking instruction. Magnificent! I will make this again and again! Thanks for yet another wonderful zucchini recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This tastes just like apple pie! I tried skipping cooking the zucchini as another rater mentioned, but I will definitely cook them next time to get the texture right. I also used a crumb topping from another recipe and it turned out great. We'll be using this often since I have so many zucchini from my garden this year. And, I'm guessing I can put the pie together and freeze it to bake later, so I'll try that next. Thanks for a great recipe that uses a lot of zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
So awesome. It was kind of freaky sitting there eating a pie that I KNEW was zucchini, but tasted just like apple pie! My four year old insisted that they "turned into apples." :) I used the crumb topping from an earlier review, because I like apple pie with crumb top crust. Y-U-M-M-Y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Oh. My. Lord. Seriously unbelievable. EVERYBODY NEEDS TO TRY THIS RECIPE!!! Better than any apple pie or chocolate pie or berry pie I've ever had. Used French Pastry recipe for bottom crust and suggested crumble topping for top crust. Wow. Im still stunned by the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
1ST RECIPE I HAVE RATED - EVEN THO I HAVE TRIED OVER 100 "AR" RECIPES. USED 1CUP MINUS 2 TABLESPOONS SPLENDA INSTEAD OF SUGAR...ALSO USED 6-7 CUPS ZUCCHINI. ALL ELSE AS WRITTEN. USED HUSBAND (DIABETIC), GRAND-KIDS, GREAT GRAND-KIDS, NEIGHBORS, AS TASTE TESTERS AND NONE KNEW IT WASN'T "REAL" APPLE PIE. NO ONE WAS MORE SURPRISED THAN I AT THE EXCELLENT FLAVOR. ADDED BONUS WAS HOW WELL IT HELD TOGETHER AND CUT INTO PIE PORTIONS WITHOUT BEING RUNNY OR FALLING APART. P.S..cut the zucchini long ways, then slice (not cube) so the slices even LOOK like apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia3096

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I am not the world's best pie baker, but even I managed to come up with something that tasted good with this recipe! I also love "forgiving" recipes, and this one is.... I started the zucchini before I went to get the recipe, and never seeded them - just peeled and sliced! Ha! It still worked great. I would cook more zucchini than you think you will need - they surely do cook down! What I thought was enough for 2 pies only did one. I used the frozen pie crusts. The top crust looked a little ragged since I had trouble getting it off the tin! (But then, most of my dishes look ugly & taste great, & this pie was no exception! ha ha!) We never told my motherinlaw what it was. She gave it rave reviews, and thought she was eating apple pie. It tastes wonderful, is easy enough for even non-pie bakers to make, and is another way to use zucchini. (Our family loves zucchini all ways, so every recipe is welcome.) Definitely worth your time to try it if anyone in your family likes apple pie! 5 out of 5 liked it here, with only one comment from my son, who preferred less cinnamon (I think I mis-read it tho - the amount is fine in here.) Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This recipe is great. Yup, just like apples. I didn't bother boiling the zucchini and it still came out great and saved a step. I did add a little extra flour as the first time I made it it was a little runny but it wasn't runny as soon as it cooled completely. I also added more zucchini for a fuller pie. An EXCELLENT way to use up zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
so easy, fooled all that ate it. now everyone wants the recipe.came in 2nd at fruit pie contest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Absolutely delicious. Takes like apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
this one is great. My girls love it. Taste just like apple pie, and it doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States