Zucchini Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
this one is great. My girls love it. Taste just like apple pie, and it doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Absolutely delicious. Takes like apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Great recipe. I actually fooled my husband and my daughter was ADAMANT it was apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I am not the world's best pie baker, but even I managed to come up with something that tasted good with this recipe! I also love "forgiving" recipes, and this one is.... I started the zucchini before I went to get the recipe, and never seeded them - just peeled and sliced! Ha! It still worked great. I would cook more zucchini than you think you will need - they surely do cook down! What I thought was enough for 2 pies only did one. I used the frozen pie crusts. The top crust looked a little ragged since I had trouble getting it off the tin! (But then, most of my dishes look ugly & taste great, & this pie was no exception! ha ha!) We never told my motherinlaw what it was. She gave it rave reviews, and thought she was eating apple pie. It tastes wonderful, is easy enough for even non-pie bakers to make, and is another way to use zucchini. (Our family loves zucchini all ways, so every recipe is welcome.) Definitely worth your time to try it if anyone in your family likes apple pie! 5 out of 5 liked it here, with only one comment from my son, who preferred less cinnamon (I think I mis-read it tho - the amount is fine in here.) Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This taste just like apple pie! Apple pie is a favorite at our home and I was shocked that a zucchini could mask itself into tasting like an apple. I was hesitant but glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I made this for our neighborhood block party. Everyone loved it? They could not believe it was zucchini instead of apples. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
First thing I'd like to say is the texture is exactly like a cooked apple. Remember to peel the Zucchini, and take the seeds out (you can reserve them for a spaghetti sauce). I didn't one time, cause someone said they didn't notice them, but I personally did. They were mush. Yucky. I may decrease the Cream of Tartar just a TOUCH still, but not much. You need quite a bit for a pie this size to give it that tart taste apples have. I would personnally add more sweetner. For those who like a brown sugar taste you could always try adding 1/2 a cup of raisins as well. Biggest tip I can offer: cut the zucchini thin! 1/4 inch pieces. It's a bit more labour, true, but the inside can retain a "veggie" flavour if the pieces are too thick, and the idea is to trick your brain into thinking it's apple. I've done the thick pieces, trying to mimic the chunks of apple I'd put into a pie ... it's not worth it. You won't know the difference if the pieces are smaller. They'll just look like apple that's been chopped a bit more. Texture will still be retained. And ... it'll taste like apple all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This pie is awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. My husband says it is his 2nd favorite pie ever - second only to his grandmother's famous lemon meringue pie - and that is quite a compliment. I will make this again and again. It is delicious and very easy to put together. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This pie is really wonderful and tastes exactly like apples!! It is almost like a fun prank to pull on people when you tell them it isn't apples - they will not believe it! I decreased sugar to 1 cup and added at least 2 more cups of apples and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Taste just like apple pie. I did not tell anyone in my family and they loved it and were very suprised when I told them that it was zucchini. Did not change a thing. Thanks Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States