Zucchini Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was an awesome pie. We also like a zucchini cobbler recipe from this site, but this pie has much better leftovers. The cream of tartar flavor was a bit noticeable in the resulting pie, but my husband didn't mind it. I might boil the zucchini in lemon juice like the cobbler recipe next time, and reduce the cream of tartar a bit. But it was luscious and satisfying. Note: Use young zucchini, not the giant mother-of-all-zucchini that evaded harvest. The big ones are a little stringier, resulting in a slightly off texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband was VERY SKEPTICAL. He thought this was so good, he even liked it better than a regular apple pie. I was quite surprised too. Couldn't believe it could really taste like apple pie. This recipe deserves more than 5 stars. Next time I will make 1-1/2 times the filling as we like it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
1ST RECIPE I HAVE RATED - EVEN THO I HAVE TRIED OVER 100 "AR" RECIPES. USED 1CUP MINUS 2 TABLESPOONS SPLENDA INSTEAD OF SUGAR...ALSO USED 6-7 CUPS ZUCCHINI. ALL ELSE AS WRITTEN. USED HUSBAND (DIABETIC), GRAND-KIDS, GREAT GRAND-KIDS, NEIGHBORS, AS TASTE TESTERS AND NONE KNEW IT WASN'T "REAL" APPLE PIE. NO ONE WAS MORE SURPRISED THAN I AT THE EXCELLENT FLAVOR. ADDED BONUS WAS HOW WELL IT HELD TOGETHER AND CUT INTO PIE PORTIONS WITHOUT BEING RUNNY OR FALLING APART. P.S..cut the zucchini long ways, then slice (not cube) so the slices even LOOK like apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia3096

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
So i was CRAZY excited about this recipe. My dad brings home these HUGE zucchini's and boy was I tired of baking countless loaves of bread! I saw this and HAD to try it. I fooled a few members of my family who really thought it was apple pie. Definitely tastes like it. However, i gave it 4 stars because i felt the creme of tartar was a half tablespoon too much and i felt there was too much cinnamon but everyone felt it was okay. Other than the tartness, it was AMAZING!!!! You definitely need to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Though I've been a member for 3 years, this is my first review--this pie was *that* good! I used 6 cups of zucchini and a 1/3 of the streusal topping that another reader suggested. This came out amazing--my super-skeptical husband enjoyed! Thanks so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I keep having to remind myself that I baked this pie with zucchini and not apples. It is impossible to tell the difference. I used the struesel topping as per another users rating, and prepared my own pie crust and it was the best pie I've ever tasted! The best part is that my husband is allergic to apples... not zucchini!! He gives it 12 out of 10 as well! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Made with a crumb topping and only used 1c sugar. Next time I will use 6c zucchini, pie wasn't full enough. Nobody could believe it wasn't apple... even the zucchini HATERS. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I registered with Allrecipes.com JUST to rate this recipe. I've made it twice, and it's my first attempt at making any pie whatsoever. It turned out with MAJOR reviews from both occasions (most recently, Thanksgiving). It tastes JUST like apple pie, but not as overtly sweet or fruity as apple usually is. Amazing. Make this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Wow, this a great recipe and a wonderful way to use those large overlooked zucchini hiding in your garden. I have made it many times and NO one can believe it is not apple. My husband said it was the best apple pie he had ever eaten before I told him. In order to cut down on some of the calories I have begun using a crumb topping instead of the top crust. It is fantastic either way. Make sure you don't forget to cook the zucchini first. I forgot the last time and the zucchini was crunchy and not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe is fabulous. I served it to my family saying it was apple pie and to my surprise no one thought it was anything but apple pie. When I said it was zucchini no one believed me and my doubting daughter even made me show her the zucchini peels to prove it. Believe me, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States