Zucchini Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Totally awesome. Won fisrt prize in a zucchini contest. Every person needs to try this pie. I used the modifications in the first review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I have a friend that HATES zucchini. I bet I could make something he would eat and LOVE. This pie was the ticket! He never knew he wasn't eating apple pie, until after he finished. My family also loved it, even the veggie hating children. I didn't change anything in the receipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
my 86 year old aunt is in a nursing home in indiana and told that one of the ladies there used to make zucchini pie. my first reaction was no way! having a huge garden and have tons of zucchini i decided to search the net for a recipe and found this one! oh my goodness. everyone thought that it was apple! i did do a couple of things a little different. because i was using a big glass pie plate i used 4 cups of zucchini, and a bit more flour. also, i just cooked the zucchini 2 minutes so they wouldn't be mush in the pie. they were a tad crisp just the way that i wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I have another recipe that a friend gave me 8 yrs. ago. Instead of boiling the zucchini you cook it in the lemon juice and it gradually beginning to look like sliced apples then add sugar and spices. I have prepared it without the crust in place of cooked apples along side pork chops. My grandchildren asked for more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I think you could make this "apple" pie with any bland vegetable, because the taste is provided by the lemon, sugar and cinnamon. The advantage of the zucchini is that it looks like apple slices and retains a good texture, even after boiling and baking, which surprised me. Once boiled, the zucchini is almost tasteless. So it is a great way to use homegrown zucchini, especially those large ones. I used 6 cups zucchini. I think 8 cups might be better. I also did not use a bottom or top crust, but used the streusel topping for the top (much quicker). Baked for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I went out and bought zucchini for this recipe, and after making it I see why everybody is saying the its great for those with too much zucchini on their hands. It was good, but I left my recipe on the counter, and after my family saw that it was a vegetable they wouldn't hardly try it! Next time I'll just use this recipe with other fruit :)I used 5 zucchini and leakylou's suggestion for a crumble on top, which was the perfect addition. With the crumble, I would reccomend cooking it about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this for my family they loved it my wife said it was so weird it tastes just like apple pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
OH. MY. GOD. ok. This is *the* biggest lifesaver...its seriously so good. I'm actually on the South Beach diet, but my fiancee is notttt...i made this with splenda and no crust (like baked apples) and it was AMAZING! I personally suggest halving the lemon juice if u do this, but man oh man is it yummyyyy! I put it on a ritz cracker w a little cool whip free for a guilt free snack. ps: my fiancee hates zucchini. pps: he ate half my "apples" with ritz and fat free ice cream ppps: he wants more. i can't rate this high enough. As an allrecipes addict, this is BY FAR my fav recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
My husband thought this was apple pie until he found a zucchini seed. (I didn't seed the zucchini) It was absolutely great! I've made it twice now and the whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was an awesome pie. We also like a zucchini cobbler recipe from this site, but this pie has much better leftovers. The cream of tartar flavor was a bit noticeable in the resulting pie, but my husband didn't mind it. I might boil the zucchini in lemon juice like the cobbler recipe next time, and reduce the cream of tartar a bit. But it was luscious and satisfying. Note: Use young zucchini, not the giant mother-of-all-zucchini that evaded harvest. The big ones are a little stringier, resulting in a slightly off texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States