Zucchini Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I've made this pie a few times now, my friends and family love it! They could've never guessed what was in it, it tastes a lot like pumpkin pie. I do cut the sugar back to 1 1/2cup and its still plenty sweet. I also add 1tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the mixture while its proccessing instead of the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
WOW! I too have a household of zucchiniphobes! My family(& I) loved this recipe. I baked it a little longer as the knife never DID come out clean but took it out of the oven after 1.5 hrs to prevent the crust from burning. The pie set lovely as it cooled on the counter & though my family preferred to call it "Harvest Pie" rather that the "Z" word I am planning to make this again for Thanksgiving.. zucchini is very easy to grow & versatile in the kitchen. Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERLOU1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very good. I baked it for 1 hr and 10 minutes. There was enough filling for 2 pies. I don't know how you would fit this all in 1 9'' pie crust. Also I only had 1 1/2c of condensed milk so I used 1/2 c of whole milk and didn't notice a differerence. Thanks for another good zucchini recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
The zucchini pie was very good and easy to make. The ingredients were things that you have on hand and didn't need to go to the store. Tastes like a custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alamo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I'm not a big fan of zucchini but this was an awesome pie!!! The flavor was great. I ended of making 3 pies for my family & 2 for my neighbor. This is definately a pie that goes with any holiday meal or just if you're in the mood for something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I really don't understand the great reviews on this pie. It is way too sweet, and like the other reviews I have read it does take longer than an hour to bake. I don't think it resembles pumpkin pie at all! this is a custard pie. I would not recommend this recipe, there are so many other great ways to use up that Zucchini without wasting all those other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs Kitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Awesome! I use fat-free evap. milk and cut back to 1-1/2 cups of sugar and it's still out of this world. I have a very very picky eater friend and he loved this! Even wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin65

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I would never guess this pie has zucchini in it by the taste. Great taste, smooth texture; I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
This was not bad tasting warm, but left a coating on the tongue when cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My family first said, "It smells good but I wish you hadn't told me what was in it". Afer tasting the pie they said "I have a new favorite pie". I did reduce the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and used one 10 oz can of evaporated milk and added enough 2% milk to make 2 cups. Absolutely wonderful seasoned with about 12 grates of a nutmeg and a teasp of cinnamon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States