Zucchini Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I really don't understand the great reviews on this pie. It is way too sweet, and like the other reviews I have read it does take longer than an hour to bake. I don't think it resembles pumpkin pie at all! this is a custard pie. I would not recommend this recipe, there are so many other great ways to use up that Zucchini without wasting all those other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs Kitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My family first said, "It smells good but I wish you hadn't told me what was in it". Afer tasting the pie they said "I have a new favorite pie". I did reduce the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and used one 10 oz can of evaporated milk and added enough 2% milk to make 2 cups. Absolutely wonderful seasoned with about 12 grates of a nutmeg and a teasp of cinnamon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My Dad and sister were like, "hmmmm......Zucchini pie, really?" Of course, after the first bite they both LOVED it. I only saved a one piece for this household, but will be making again tonight to try it myself! I did think the pie looked like a custard pie, and smelled like a pumpkin pie. That may be due to adding 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. I also cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 C. per other reviews. My sister said it's her favorite now, maybe even more liked than her all time fav. pumpkin pie! I did have to cook this pie for about an hour and a half. Needless to say, a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Love this! Have made it several times. Would never guess it has zucchini in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Awesome! I use fat-free evap. milk and cut back to 1-1/2 cups of sugar and it's still out of this world. I have a very very picky eater friend and he loved this! Even wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin65

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Haney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very good. I baked it for 1 hr and 10 minutes. There was enough filling for 2 pies. I don't know how you would fit this all in 1 9'' pie crust. Also I only had 1 1/2c of condensed milk so I used 1/2 c of whole milk and didn't notice a differerence. Thanks for another good zucchini recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I've made this pie a few times now, my friends and family love it! They could've never guessed what was in it, it tastes a lot like pumpkin pie. I do cut the sugar back to 1 1/2cup and its still plenty sweet. I also add 1tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the mixture while its proccessing instead of the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
WOW! I too have a household of zucchiniphobes! My family(& I) loved this recipe. I baked it a little longer as the knife never DID come out clean but took it out of the oven after 1.5 hrs to prevent the crust from burning. The pie set lovely as it cooled on the counter & though my family preferred to call it "Harvest Pie" rather that the "Z" word I am planning to make this again for Thanksgiving.. zucchini is very easy to grow & versatile in the kitchen. Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERLOU1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States