Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Use your imagination. Pay attention to the 3 cups of zucchini. That could become 1 cup ham, 1 cup mushroom and 1/2 cup squash 1/2 cup zucchini. Or 2 cups zucchini, 1/2 ham, 1/2 cup mushrooms. I have even used bacon. This recipe it good hot, it is good cold. I have used as a breakfast dish and as a dinner side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I could tell from the simplicity of the recipe and from reading the other reviews that this was not going to have enough flavor for my liking. Here's what I did and it turned out really good: I diced two med zucchinis and half an onion. I sauteed them in a little olive oil with garlic, salt, pepper, and lemon pepper for a few mins. Then to the batter I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of oregano. Then once in the baking pan, I sprinkled additional Parmesan cheese on top and seasoned bread crumbs. Will serve with sprinkled, melted cheddar over the top. Tomatoes would have added nice color, but I didn't have any this time, will try adding that next time. I just used Jiffy baking mix as that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very interesting! Worth a shot. I will make again. Not way exciting, but different. Mellow. Tasted great the next day. With all the oil I thought it would be heavy, but was very, very light and flavorful. Sounded like it would use lots and lots of zucchini, but only used two medium sized. More I write about it, the more I want to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
We did not care for this pie at all! I will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good enough but not awesome. Used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup sour cream. Also added sliced cherry tomatoes on top as a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I shredded the zucchini. All the family enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a favorite in our house, especially in the summer with all the fresh zucchini. It's delicious with cubed ham to make it more of a main dish. We also enjoy it with fresh sliced tomato. If you don't have parmesan on hand cheddar or mozzerla both work great too. Great go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was awesome! I sauteed the onions in olive oil with some garlic and added the diced zucchini briefly. I transferred that to a bowl where I added halved cherry tomatoes, the oil, the Parmesan, eggs and a fluffy complete pancake mix. It baked beautifully, then I grated some sharp cheddar on top while it was still hot and served it with a salad. Everyone loved it, great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by handbanana
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I used 2 medium sized zucchinis grated and about 4 baby carrots grated along with 5 cherry tomatoes cut up. I used 1 cup of Heart Healthy Bisquick and used 1/2 a cup of sour cream and a splash of olive oil after reading the other reviews. My picky 3 y/o loved it and there were no leftovers. A nice light meal that sneaked in veggies to the picky eaters. Next time I will cut my onion smaller. Update: Made again since my picky 3 y/o ate it well. DH said it was bland and he didn't really care for it. This time I used the food processor to shred the zucchini and 2 small carrots as well as the onion. I like the idea of this but will need to try other recipes or perhaps tweak this one with seasonings. With the onion shredded I didn't find it too overpowering. I used a small sweet onion. My 3 y/o gobbled it down so it's still a 5 star recipe in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, would not make again. Little taste and too oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States