Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, would not make again. Little taste and too oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Easy & quick but a bit too bland for me, especially the zucchini pieces in it tasted bland. Will add spices and saute the zucchini before baking next time. Family liked it but added quite a bit hot sauce. Will add some cheddar to the mix next time instead of the Parmesan. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This recipe is quick, easy and delicious. I use buttermilk pancake mix to give it a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was pretty good, but I think some additional seasonings/spices are needed to make this a five star. If I make this again, I think I will saute the onions with some garlic just to soften them (DH complains about crunch onions). I used about 2 c. zucchini and 1 c. yellow squash, but I'd like to try this with some red or orange bell pepper, which would give it additional flavor and more color. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe someone gave me a few years ago. I needed to use some buttermilk pancake mix (you know the kind u just add water) up and stretched it to make one cup with Bisquick. I shredded my zucchini added only 1/4 veg oil and a combo of sour cream and sour cream onion dip (in the container) for the other 1/4 cup. I used parmasan cheese and chedder in the batter and the last 5 mins or so sprinkled some more shredded chedder cheese on top and let that bake in.... mmm very good and this recipe is very versatile... I am sure you can use yellow squash(which I will try next time) brocolli or any combo of veggies that you want. This is a real keeper. I had a piece for lunch with a cucumber salad... and also another piece with my homemade stuffed pepper dinner,mashed potatoes, and green pepper cucumber, and tomatoe salad.... went so well with dinner and hubby enjoyed it too.... thanx for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very light and fluffy--would also be good for breakfast. Baked in 11x7 glass dish for 35 min. Marjoram was good, but might experiment with spices next time. I shredded zucchini and vidalia onion and patted dry in paper towel before mixing in. Husband asked me to make it again. Easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Photo by LOVE2eat
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
siomeone broguht to this to a potluck and i loved it, so i asked for the recipe. hers was pretty similiar to this one so i kinda combined the two heres what i used 2 zuchinni diced thin 1/2 onion minced 4 eggs 1 cup pancake mix 1/4 cup olive oil 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt and peper(didnt measure, just eyeballed) turned out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This "pie" is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something I could toss together quickly, use zucchini with a great taste that looked good. I added tomatoes cut in thin wedges on the top in concentric cirles to add color and design- it was beautiful. In addition to the tomatoes I added 1/2 tsp italian spices, 2 cloves finely chopped garlic and some fresh cracked pepper to the top. (based on other reviewers recommendations) My husband and I loved this and will make it again. It is a dish you could serve as a simple supper with a side salad and be satisfied. Perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yum, yum, yum!!! I took the advice of others and subbed 1/2 cup low fat sour cream and just 1-2 Tbsp oil to make it lighter. Used 1 tsp. Italian seasoning instead of the marjoram and parsley. Added some crushed red pepper. I also topped with a little shredded cheddar cheese which I thought enhanced the presentation and flavor both. Baked in a 7x11 inch pan. Would be great served for brunch, but I made it for a summer dinner and it was satisfying enough for that too. Was great reheated also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I tried following the recipe exactly, but did not have marjoram, so used italian seasoning and added a few cherry tomatoes quartered from the garden. My husband loved it, said it tasted so "fresh". I didn't care for the onions being on the raw side. But it had good flavor, next time I think I will sautee the onions a little before adding to pie. Diced zucchini which kept it semi firm after cooking it. We liked that the zucchini didn't turn to mush. Surprisingly the 1/2c veg oil did not make it oily or greasy. Will make again, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States