Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LOVE2eat
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
siomeone broguht to this to a potluck and i loved it, so i asked for the recipe. hers was pretty similiar to this one so i kinda combined the two heres what i used 2 zuchinni diced thin 1/2 onion minced 4 eggs 1 cup pancake mix 1/4 cup olive oil 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt and peper(didnt measure, just eyeballed) turned out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This "pie" is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something I could toss together quickly, use zucchini with a great taste that looked good. I added tomatoes cut in thin wedges on the top in concentric cirles to add color and design- it was beautiful. In addition to the tomatoes I added 1/2 tsp italian spices, 2 cloves finely chopped garlic and some fresh cracked pepper to the top. (based on other reviewers recommendations) My husband and I loved this and will make it again. It is a dish you could serve as a simple supper with a side salad and be satisfied. Perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yum, yum, yum!!! I took the advice of others and subbed 1/2 cup low fat sour cream and just 1-2 Tbsp oil to make it lighter. Used 1 tsp. Italian seasoning instead of the marjoram and parsley. Added some crushed red pepper. I also topped with a little shredded cheddar cheese which I thought enhanced the presentation and flavor both. Baked in a 7x11 inch pan. Would be great served for brunch, but I made it for a summer dinner and it was satisfying enough for that too. Was great reheated also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I tried following the recipe exactly, but did not have marjoram, so used italian seasoning and added a few cherry tomatoes quartered from the garden. My husband loved it, said it tasted so "fresh". I didn't care for the onions being on the raw side. But it had good flavor, next time I think I will sautee the onions a little before adding to pie. Diced zucchini which kept it semi firm after cooking it. We liked that the zucchini didn't turn to mush. Surprisingly the 1/2c veg oil did not make it oily or greasy. Will make again, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, with the following small adjustments... First I used Bisquik heart smart mix as recommended by a previous reviewer, and it worked perfectly. I can see that cutting this amount in half as suggested by some could be really good too, though, and give the dish less of a bread-like texture and more of a quiche-like texture. Secondly, I added fresh chopped green chile for a little spice, and this was wonderful. Last, I chopped about 2 tablespoons of fresh basil and sprinkled it on top with an extra 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesean and it gave the crust a nice cheesy crust on top. (I added these with about 5 min of baking time left). This was a great dish and I will definitely make it again. Also, I'm glad that I chopped the zucchini because it still had a nice texture after baking 30 minutes, not mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I must of done something wrong it was bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I like the way this tasted. I used shredded yellow and green zucchini and peppers (red, yellow & orange). I also added a couple of sprinkles of a cheese blend (Fontina & Asiago) in addition to the 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese. Next time I'll add more cheese and maybe spinach. Like other reviewers suggested, I used less oil (olive). This took longer than 30 minutes to get done, closer to an hour or a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this EXACTLY as stated, except that I shredded 2 cups of the zucchini (diced the other 1 cup) and used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. It turned out really, really good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent. I used half the oil as well but added in some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States