Zucchini Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These are delicious! I substituted instant mashed potato flakes for the flour, which I think makes for better taste and consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
689 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
WOW! These are soooo good! Very easy to make. I tweaked the recipe a bit though since it seemed a little bland as is. I added some black pepper, parsley and garlic. I also threw in some chopped mushrooms since they go so well with zucchini. I think next time I'll try different cheeses and other complementary veggies like red bell pepper. These would probably go really well with some marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This is a very good recipe which I will definitely use again. After reading other reviews, I made a couple adjustments. I salted the grated zucchini first and let it sit in a colander to draw out the excess moisture. Then I patted it dry with paper towels. I also added some fresh chopped garlic and Italian-style bread crumbs to the mixture. Then, after forming the patties, I patted on more bread crumbs. They fried up nice and crispy. I served them with marinara sauce, which my husband and I both thought was the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
571 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
These zucchini patties are AWESOME!! My husband and I both loved them--I can't wait to make them for others. I did tweak the recipe a bit and followed the suggestions of others. The liquid from the zucchini absolutely needs to be squeezed out to make this work--otherwise it will be much too runny. Here is what I did: used 3 eggs instead of 2 (i had a bit more onion and zucchini than what was called for), added 3 cloves of pressed garlic, a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes, 3/4 to a full cup of italian seasoned bread crumbs, and 1/2 c. of cheddar (on top of the other cheeses). Also, I lessened the amount of flour to maybe 1/4 c. Lastly, I sprinkled the patties with bread crumbs before frying. Will definitely make this again--can't wait in fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
These are great with the recipe as is, but they turn out a little better if you drain the excess water off of the Zuc first. I've also used just a Tablespoon of flour and a 1/3 cup of seasoned bread crumbs to replace the 1/2 cup flour, to add more flavor and they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Wow, what a great recipe for zucchini. We just ate these up. They even look just like potato patties. I made these even lighter by adding reduced fat shredded mozzarella cheese and frying them in a spray marjorine. I also added some garlic for extra flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will surely use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This recipe was simple and great tasting! What I also did was make the full recipe, made enough for my fiance and myself. Then I put the remining mixture back in the fridge to use again a few days later. It was fine, just drain the accumulated liquid from the settling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This recipe was great. I ommited the mozzarella cheese because I didn't have any on hand but they were still great. My husband loved them and told me I might have to make these every night! My sister and her 1 1/2 year old son loved them too. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
These were very delicious, my husband was surprised at how much he liked them! I did as someone else suggested and drained off all the extra juice I could from the zucchini and then placed it in some paper towels and squeezed out all the juice that was left. It helped make these patties nice and crispy with a yummy cheesy inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I make these patties all the time. For a more healthy way I bake them in a jelly roll pan at 375 for 20 min then turn them and bake for an additional 15. Time depends on your oven, the size of the patties and thickness. I spray the bottom of the pan with PAM. I squeeze as much water out of the zucchini as possible and I don't use salt. The salt makes the zucchini more runny. There is enough salt in the cheeses and you can always salt them after they are baked. I also use 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese and 1/2 cup of feta instead of the mozzarella cheese. These cheeses give the patties a better taste. I don't use any oil or flour in my patties. I use Italian bread crumbs I also double the recipe but don't double the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States