Zucchini Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
As written the ingredients are a good base allowing you to be as creative as your palate would prefer. My tweaks: I used 5 cups of shredded zucchini. Mixed it in a bowl with a bit of kosher salt then poured it into a colander to drain for an hour. In a food processor I put about 12 baby carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 small red onion, an assortment of 8 luncheon size red, yellow and orange peppers. I pulsed the veggies several times and then put those into a tea towel to squeeze out excess moisture and put the veggies in a mixing bowl. Then I squeezed the excess water from the zucchini in the same way and added it to the veggies. To the bowl I added Italian bread crumbs and instant potato flakes, Italian seasoning, a bit of black pepper and paprika. I added about 1 cup of fiesta mix shredded cheese and 1/2 cup of fresh shredded asiago cheese and finally 3 beaten eggs. Mixed it all well and placed the bowl in the fridge to chill for about an hour. I lined 2 half sheet pans with parchment and sprayed with olive oil Pam. I formed the mix into burger size patties, covered one side with a mix of panko and grated Parmesan and placed the panko side down on the tray. I patted the panko mix on the top side of each of the 13 burgers and then sprayed each with the olive oil Pam. These baked in a 375 degree oven for about 40 minutes flipping 1/2 way through. The family loved them with sour cream. There were 3 of us and only 4 of the 13 burger size patties were left after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I, too, thought the recipe was quite runny and began to add flour and more cheese. DH told me to stop and indicated it was probably supposed to be a pancake type batter and to fry it up as is. I did as instructed and they turned out wonderful and moist, very similar to a potato pancake or hash brown and we both thought they'd be quite nice for breakfast. I used sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella and did not find them bland at all. A very nice blend of cheese, onion and squashy goodness. Any other spices would make it something's it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious! Followed recommendations of other reviewers and squeezed out as much liquid as possible from my zucchini. I added 2 cloves garlic, cracked black pepper, and a little red pepper. I did not have any bread crumbs on hand, so used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 corn meal. Fantastic texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I let grated zucchini set for 30 to 40 minutes once it was grated and put it in a colander, as it will produce lots of moisture (water) that needs to be drained and patted dry… I also formed the mixture into patties and coated with additional bread crumbs and put in a hot skillet…. Cooked them for approx. 15-20 minutes… These are delicious as is, but you could always top with marinara sauce, sour cream or additional cheese… These are very habit forming….. This would be good with chopped chives, minced garlic or the tops of green onions in it….. I don’t think you can go wrong with anything you try to add to it…..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Just made this and it's amazing! I just had to add more flour because it was too wet and stuck to the pan. I definitely recommend this and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
YUM! I had to substitute cheddar shred for the mozz cheese since it's what I had but stuck to the recipe for the rest. After frying, I let them "rest" in a 300 degree oven for about 20minutes to crisp up a little more while I was wrangling the family for dinner. I like the extra crispiness. Will try some of the other seasoning variations another time. A really good tasty blank canvas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love these parties and am wondering if anyone has tried to freeze them with success?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very, very tasty! I added a little oregano, basil and red pepper flakes to give it a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love my zucchini patties! Bellissima ricetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Federica from Italy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was so good! I have a few minor tips to add: 1) use "drained" ziccini (shred it and salt it to remove a lot of water then give it a rinse to remove any surface salt) and do not add extra salt to the batter and 2) use a 1/4 cup measure (or smaller!) or disher to measure out the zuccini-batter as it is very soft and easy to flip/fold over onto itself and a smaller patty flips better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States