Zucchini Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Eek. These were watery and bad. I wish the recipe had said to drain the zucchini; I didn't think to do that, and only know to do it now because, when these turned out terrible, I checked the reviews to see if there was something I missed. And indeed. Drain drain drain. I would also say that these could use some kick. Wet or not, I could tell that they were bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved it! I am the only one in my house that likes zucchini, but my husband and two teenagers liked these. My son loved them! Changes I made were that I used Locatelli Romano instead of Parmesan & Colby/Monterey Jack cheese because that is what I had on hand. Also added some minced garlic. I have already made them twice and the second time I doubled the recipe. Now I have something to do with all the zucchini growing in my garden. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I just made and ate these zucchini patties, and my whole family loved them! I doubled the recipe (didn't double the egg) and added fresh basil from the garden and a chopped red bell pepper. Other than that, the only change I made was to omit the salt and sprinkle the patties with a little bit of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning as they sizzled in the skillet. I learned through trial and error that it's best not to make the patties too large, because they could turn out a little too soft and floppy. A gentle heaping on a tablespoon should be just right. They are amazing served with some sour cream. I can't wait until my garden tomatoes are ripe so that I can make these again and top them with fresh slices! Thank you, Sherlie, for a delicious new summertime recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Good if you need to have a veggie side that is different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
They don't hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
As written the ingredients are a good base allowing you to be as creative as your palate would prefer. My tweaks: I used 5 cups of shredded zucchini. Mixed it in a bowl with a bit of kosher salt then poured it into a colander to drain for an hour. In a food processor I put about 12 baby carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 small red onion, an assortment of 8 luncheon size red, yellow and orange peppers. I pulsed the veggies several times and then put those into a tea towel to squeeze out excess moisture and put the veggies in a mixing bowl. Then I squeezed the excess water from the zucchini in the same way and added it to the veggies. To the bowl I added Italian bread crumbs and instant potato flakes, Italian seasoning, a bit of black pepper and paprika. I added about 1 cup of fiesta mix shredded cheese and 1/2 cup of fresh shredded asiago cheese and finally 3 beaten eggs. Mixed it all well and placed the bowl in the fridge to chill for about an hour. I lined 2 half sheet pans with parchment and sprayed with olive oil Pam. I formed the mix into burger size patties, covered one side with a mix of panko and grated Parmesan and placed the panko side down on the tray. I patted the panko mix on the top side of each of the 13 burgers and then sprayed each with the olive oil Pam. These baked in a 375 degree oven for about 40 minutes flipping 1/2 way through. The family loved them with sour cream. There were 3 of us and only 4 of the 13 burger size patties were left after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I, too, thought the recipe was quite runny and began to add flour and more cheese. DH told me to stop and indicated it was probably supposed to be a pancake type batter and to fry it up as is. I did as instructed and they turned out wonderful and moist, very similar to a potato pancake or hash brown and we both thought they'd be quite nice for breakfast. I used sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella and did not find them bland at all. A very nice blend of cheese, onion and squashy goodness. Any other spices would make it something's it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious! Followed recommendations of other reviewers and squeezed out as much liquid as possible from my zucchini. I added 2 cloves garlic, cracked black pepper, and a little red pepper. I did not have any bread crumbs on hand, so used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 corn meal. Fantastic texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I let grated zucchini set for 30 to 40 minutes once it was grated and put it in a colander, as it will produce lots of moisture (water) that needs to be drained and patted dry… I also formed the mixture into patties and coated with additional bread crumbs and put in a hot skillet…. Cooked them for approx. 15-20 minutes… These are delicious as is, but you could always top with marinara sauce, sour cream or additional cheese… These are very habit forming….. This would be good with chopped chives, minced garlic or the tops of green onions in it….. I don’t think you can go wrong with anything you try to add to it…..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Just made this and it's amazing! I just had to add more flour because it was too wet and stuck to the pan. I definitely recommend this and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States