Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This was delicious! I have long been looking for a lasagna /parmigiana recipe that would be easy and tasty - This is it! Next I'll try it with lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Mmmmmm, yummy! I've made this dish 4 times and everyone loves it. This last time I used cottage cheese because its a little bit healthier and less expensive than ricotta. We actually liked the cottage cheese better, you just need to drain out a little of the cottage cheese juice before mixing it up. Also I used dried parsley and basil and it still tasted great. Try this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Wonderful Recipe! I made it for my roomates and it came out awesome! The breading didn't really stay on after the entire meal was cooked, but it still tasted wonderful! The ricotta added substance and sweetness. Loved it and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Good, could use a bit of spicing up, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I scaled the recipe down for 2 servings because it was just me eating it tonight, and I used fat free mozzarella and cottage cheese for the ricotta. I also used left over sauce from last nights chicken cacciatore. Having this day be one of the worst (other than death) ever, meaning NOT ONE single thing went right for me today, it turned out nice, thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was even better last night (the 2nd time I made it) Made my own version of 2 large servings, and it turned out less soupy. Used 1/3 cup dry bread crumbs, 1/3 cup grated Pecorino-Romano cheese (for the Parm), garlic powder, dried spices, 3/8 cup egg whites (divided), and 12 oz. zucchini. Really blotted the juice out of a cup of cottage cheese, and boiled an 8 oz. can of no-salt added tomato sauce to reduce it. Used 2/3 of a cup of a combo of mozzarella and provolone cheeses (ran out of mozzarella). Layered it in a glass loaf pan, and baked it 35 minutes at 400 degrees. IT WAS SUPER EXCELLENT--a little juicy on the bottom, but what else could one expect, with that layer of tomato sauce on the botton??? YUM, YUM, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
It was ok.. Would make it once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellaire, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Really tasty. We loved the breadcrumb topping. Filling but not heavy. However,15 mins prep time is not accurate... more like 30-40 mins. Overall, great, easy recipe, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Great way to use up those large zucchinis! I used cottage cheese, bottled spaghetti sauce and 3 whole eggs. Like lasagna, this serves up better if you give it 15 minutes to 'set' after coming out of the oven. In deference to husband, I replaced some zucchini slices with a couple pork cutlets - crumbed & baked alongside the zucchini, they turned out perfect. And adding meat meant it counted as a main dish :) Next time I'll reduce the parmesan in the crumbs, and use dried basil & garlic powder. To the cheese mixture I'm adding minced garlic, fresh basil, s&p, and the 1/2 cup of parmesan reserved from the crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I only loosely follow recipes, as I did with this one, and it came out great. I didn't bother with the eggs or breading procedure at all. I used considerably more garlic and basil from the garden. I used only 2 cups of sauce and only 1 cup of ricotta as the recipe seems to call for far too much in my opinion. Though I'm not a huge fan of Italian food, this was probably one of the best dishes I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I was not sure if I would like this, but the recipe turned out great! Even my meat-eating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States