Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great recipe, rich and full flavoured. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Tried this yesterday, was a bit disappointed as we found it rather bland. I will give it another bash, and try out some of the tips other users have mentioned, and just add more seasoning along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This dish turned out really well! I have to agree with the reader who posted that prep time is more like 30-40 minutes instead of 15. Slicing and dicing everything and baking the zucchini slices took some time, but I think it was worth it. I added more mozzerella than called for ~ I bought 2 packages of the shredded kind and used a package per "layer". I also needed more than 2 egg whites to dip the zucchini in before dredging in the bread crumb mixture. My messy hands were getting bread crumbs in the egg whites and the egg whites were soaking into the bread crumbs! I recommend serving this dish with garlic toast - my husband LOVED piling the zucchini parmigiana on top of the toast and eating it like that. Next time, I think I will try using dried herbs (just so I don't have to make special trips to the grocery store to buy fresh herbs) and throwing in a few things I have in the pantry. This is a super-versatile dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Too rich! Had to dump it. No one in the house wanted to eat it more than once. Waste of that much cheese and fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made my own sauce (Marinara Sauce II), instead of using just tomato sauce, which made this a five star tasting dish. With only tomato sauce it is only four stars, imo. I substituted cottage cheese for the ricotta, just because I already had it. I had to use dried parsley, rather than fresh. I halved this recipe, and baked it in a 7x11 size pan, it only took 30 mins in the oven. This is a good meatless meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used cottage cheese and would prefer to have not done the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I thought this was excellent. It was really good left over too. I did not use quite as much cheese or eggs as directed. My sister in law said that it was "epic". She would have given it five stars. My entire family loved it. Perfect for all that extra zucchini in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I followed this recipe pretty closely and my family really enjoyed it. I can't think of anything I would really change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used Italian style bread crumbs to add more taste to the dish. I also used less tomato sauce and started with a layer of bread crumbs to soak up the juices so it's not so runny. I didn't bother doing the dipping the slices in the egg and the bread crumbs. I baked the zucchini slices for about 10 minutes. They will finish cooking in the oven with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I didn't use and ricotta cheese and used more mozzerella than called for, but it was good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States