Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JANINE0802
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I am Italian and grew up eating authentic home-made Italian food. This recipe was DECLICIOUS!!! I re-scaled the recipe for 5 people and everything came out perfect. Only thing I modified was using 3 whole eggs instead of seperating the whites, part skim ricotta to cut down on calories/fat, and baked for 35 mins instead of 45. I also used both zucchini and squash. Put some ziti noodles with some of the leftover marinara on the side and ate this as the main course. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE0802
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was ok. Mine came out runny..not sure why. Would like to try it again however I wouldn't want it to come out as soggy as it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great recipe, rich and full flavoured. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Tried this yesterday, was a bit disappointed as we found it rather bland. I will give it another bash, and try out some of the tips other users have mentioned, and just add more seasoning along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This dish turned out really well! I have to agree with the reader who posted that prep time is more like 30-40 minutes instead of 15. Slicing and dicing everything and baking the zucchini slices took some time, but I think it was worth it. I added more mozzerella than called for ~ I bought 2 packages of the shredded kind and used a package per "layer". I also needed more than 2 egg whites to dip the zucchini in before dredging in the bread crumb mixture. My messy hands were getting bread crumbs in the egg whites and the egg whites were soaking into the bread crumbs! I recommend serving this dish with garlic toast - my husband LOVED piling the zucchini parmigiana on top of the toast and eating it like that. Next time, I think I will try using dried herbs (just so I don't have to make special trips to the grocery store to buy fresh herbs) and throwing in a few things I have in the pantry. This is a super-versatile dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Too rich! Had to dump it. No one in the house wanted to eat it more than once. Waste of that much cheese and fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made my own sauce (Marinara Sauce II), instead of using just tomato sauce, which made this a five star tasting dish. With only tomato sauce it is only four stars, imo. I substituted cottage cheese for the ricotta, just because I already had it. I had to use dried parsley, rather than fresh. I halved this recipe, and baked it in a 7x11 size pan, it only took 30 mins in the oven. This is a good meatless meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used cottage cheese and would prefer to have not done the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I thought this was excellent. It was really good left over too. I did not use quite as much cheese or eggs as directed. My sister in law said that it was "epic". She would have given it five stars. My entire family loved it. Perfect for all that extra zucchini in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I followed this recipe pretty closely and my family really enjoyed it. I can't think of anything I would really change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States