Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Was ok...turned out to be really filling. Too heavy for a full meal, would love as a side. We had so much left over we froze it to eat later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Even better when you add slices of fresh tomatos in season like Jersey Beefsteaks. Also fresh grated nutmeg and fresh parsley in the ricotta adds that restaurant quality taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was easy AND delicious. A neighbor gave me one of those giant "what the heck do you do with it" zucchinis. I decided to try this recipe. I made the recipe larger as I had a big zucchini, and a lasagna pan to bake it in. I used cottage cheese rather than ricotta and it came out perfectly. A big hit with the family, and even gave some to the neighbor, if he promised not to share any more baseball bat sized vegetables. grins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagewood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was very good! It is a bit soft since there is no meat in it to give it substance. There was a bit too much topping on mine and not enough sauce; that part was my fault. I think I'd slice my zucchini a bit thicker next time too since the other flavors are strong; you almost don't even see or taste the zucchini in it which may be a good or bad thing for some!.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This does take a lot of time, so don't expect to get it on the table for a quick dinner or lunch. It is, however, very good. I think I'd either use more zucchini next time or use a smaller dish--not enough zucchini in the dish itself in my opinion. I sliced thin and in small pieces--I actually think I should've done bigger pieces-maybe just used slices from the whole zucchini (I cut in half, then sliced). I don't like using egg and dipping in bread crumbs (just a quirk of mine), so I just coated the zucchini in olive oil and then put the breading in a ziploc bag with the zucchini and shook to coat. It worked well but I ended up with a lot of breading, so I used the breading as an additional layer. I'd mix the cheese and spaghetti sauce layers next time--just a personal preference for making the layering less time consuming. This is very soupy, but I love the tomato sauce taste so I probably wouldn't change that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
We thought this was great, my husband especially loved it! Made it pretty much following the recipe other than the eggs. As another person said I just used a couple of eggs for the breading and then 3 for the cheese mixture. I also used my preferred brand of bottled spaghetti sauce. It does take some time but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Like other reviewers, my dish came out soupy. It was good as leftovers (the fridge helped solidify it) and it was still pretty good as the main course. I added mushrooms, extra seasonings, and used cottage cheese, spaghetti sauce, garlic powder, and dried herbs. Next time I’ll use a smaller baking dish since I felt that the four zucchinis I used were not enough to adequately fill the large dish. I’ll also put a layer of bread crumbs in the bottom of the baking dish to try and absorb some of the liquid and will try adding a small can of tomato paste to see if that helps with excess liquid. I’ll also use less of the bread crumb mixture on top as I thought it was a bit much and took away from the taste of the dish. I may sweat the zucchini next time as well. Despite these changes, it wasn’t a bad recipe. It’s a good starting point and I’d try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
this is delicious! the only problem i had with the recipe is that the zucchini makes it soupy.. i wouldnt serve it to guests, but my family LOVED it! I used only 2 cups of ricotta, 2 eggs for the breading and 2 eggs for the ricotta mixture. im not sure how to make it less soupy because zucchini is a very watery vegetable. I used dried parsley.. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is the first recipe I reviewed and found it easy , even if it does take a bit longer to prepare. I added in a box of frozen broccoli for an added vegetable and I think this was beneficial for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this exactly like the recipe except sub. drained cottage cheese and used less whole eggs vs. egg whites. This was not good at all. The zuchinni is delicious when breaded but when you put it in dish it turns very soggy! If more seasoning were added and alot less sauce it might be ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States