Zucchini Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
As is it's 3 star. With a few changes it's 5 star. My version of this, roast or grill zucchini, add spices ,then layer and bake. Keep the zucchini from being watery , keep them out of water. You also retain flavor by roasting or grilling. I also use garlic and Italian spice. Sometimes mix eggplant and zucchini. Can also add a layer of meat or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Wilcutt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is the best zucchini I have found. I sauteed the zucchini with the onions and garlic, when done drained it in a colander to remove as much moisture as possible. I had more zucchini then the recipe called for so I layered it with the sauce and cheese. I used an entire can of Hunts Pasta sauce and 2 cups to mozzarella. I baked it at 375 for about 30 minutes. The more cheese the better for hubby. After making it we had something else for dinner and heated it up the next night. It was awesome....flavored through and mine didn't have any excess moisture. Will make this again & again &again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The parmesan cheese wasn't listed. When is it added? The recipe sounds delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Because my husband is lactose intolerant, I will sub the mozarella with old cheddar or aged asagio is good too. Have made a similar recipe without the spaghetti sauce, sautéed the zucchini after letting it sit with salt. Zuchinni was firm not mushy. I will try your version with my cheese substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Just a question, how do you call something "Zucchini Parmsean" when there is no parmasean cheese in it? Why not call it "Zucchini Mozzarella"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not sure how this can be Zucchini Parmesan when there is no parmesan in it......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I will definitely make it again. I changed it like many others that I read reviews on. I steamed the zucchini in a steamer on the stove so it did not become watery like some I read. I also used ground turkey and fried it up with the onion and garlic with salt and garlic powder. I added canned mushrooms then when it was cooked I added the sauce and simmered it some. Then I layered starting with the sauce then zucchini then the mozzarella like a lasagna. Baked it and it turned out great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight, hubby liked it! Used canned stewed tomatoes and added mushrooms and didn't have any Parmesan. I also didn't use the breadcrumb topping. Should have drained the tomatoes a little bit more but hubby said it would go well on rice. Will try it again, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very easy and tasty recipe for a beginning cook like me! After reading the reviews I sauteed the zucchini and it turned out great, not watery at all. Next time I might add mushrooms and serve it with/over pasta, that might make it a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I love eggplant Parmesan but this may tie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States