Zucchini Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I had made this on Saturday, did not soften the zucchini as directed but saute them with the onions and garlic, added fresh sliced mushrooms, transferred to baking dish, layering as I did this and sprinkled on Parmesan Cheese, 3 slices of Julianne Swiss Cheese, and Mozzerella cheese with a 1/3 jar of Bertolli mushroom spagetti sauce with Merlot. It was just enough and it was just right. If you let it set after baking like lasagna it will absorb the water from the sauce. Also I had sprinkle bread crumbs on the top before baking. Will be making this again and again. Very good. Thank you. forgot I had also added fresh basil from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I noticed when I sauteed the zucchini instead of boiling it, that it didn't turn out watery at all. I added extra garlic, sliced roma tomatoes and mushrooms - all sauteed in addition to the onions. It turned out fantastic. I also used Ragu Garden Style Spaghetti sauce. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe was delicious although I made a few changes to suit my family's tastes. I grilled the zucchini on my George Foreman Fusion Grill. I salted the slices liberally and it pulled out a lot of moisture. After I removed them I let them cool and then patted them with paper towel to remove as much extra moisture as possible. (It worked). I used a jar of spaghetti sauce, fresh mushrooms, onions and a little wine for flavor. I also used a pound of ground turkey, cooked and drained it and mixed with the sauce along with 5 cloves of fresh garlic. I used mozz cheese, ricotta and parmesan. My hubby who is somewhat fussy told me that he would eat this again and again. Hence the 5 stars. It was a great starting point and if I were going to make it purely vegetarian I would add grated carrots and celery and maybe summer squash. But it really is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I thought this turned out great. My husband enjoyed it as well. I did not boil the zucchini. Instead I sauteed it with the onion and garlic until the onion was tender. I also did not use thin slices of zucchini. I prefered larger slices. I recommend using a chunky spaghetti sauce. I used mozzerella and parm and I baked it at 375 until the cheese was brown. It was a little watery but the zucchini was not mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Very easy & delicious. What more could you ask for? I added sautéed mushrooms, fresh sliced tomatoes & a bit of mozzarella cheese to the layers. I baked it at 375 for 30 min. I will absolutely make this dish again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dre's Yummies!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
After reading reviews about the dish being watery, I salted my zucchini for a half hour to remove the moisture. I also threw it in with the onion and garlic. As I poured the sauce (Bertolli Tomato & Basil) over the zucchini mixture that is when I realized that it was going to be the sauce that was going to make it watery. I was right...maybe adding tomato paste to thicken it? Besides that it was very good and I served it over ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Great vegetarian recipe, doubled the garlic and cheese and added 1/2 lb of fresh mushrooms to the onion and garlic saute, will make again using italian sausage, ground beef or chicken for the meat lovers in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I used leftover grilled zucchini to make this, and it turned out delicious! A nice alternative to eggplant. We used the leftovers from this dish to make sandwiches on Italian bread the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This has been one of my favorite recipes since childhood. My meat loving family used it as a side dish, but I like it best with whole grain pasta and crusty garlic bread for a complete and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fenny
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe is sooo easy and delicious. I didn't have enough spaghetti sauce, which was a good thing since the recipe turned out to be a bit watery. I doubled the garlic, added sausage & parmesan. Yummy, I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States