Zucchini Parmesan Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I have to disagree with the other reviews posted here. We have a very large garden that yields so many zucchini, I give them away. I was so tired of the same old "gambotto" (zucchini with onions, tomato sauce and sausage), so I searched to find something different. I found this recipe and tried it. My family loved it. We ate the entire pan in one night. I did change one thing: I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and not white plain and I baked it in a baking pan so the batter was a little thinner than if I used a casserole dish. I also shredded prosciotto over the top and that made it a little extra special. (add about 5 - 10 min before it's done). I made it another time with pepperoni on top, which was added about 5 minutes before it was done. Now that the season is over, my family actually had me BUY zucchini just so I could make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Great potential with this recipe. I did change some things though the second time I made it... First off, I used salted butter. than, I used 2 (smaller sized) red onions. Next, I used seasoned bread crumbs. I omitted the basil, and used parmesan romano. This isn't a bad recipe all on its own, but I feel it needed doctored up... what you choose to do as far as fixing it up really will depend on your own preferences, but it has lots of room to grow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunlevy, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I LOVE zucchini and I've used these ingredients many times but so differently. I shred the zucchini, cover with 1/2 tsp of salt and let drain for 15 min. (no cooking). Then mix everything together (omit butter) and pan fry in a little veg. oil. My ingred. amt's are 2 zucchini, 1/2 small onion, 1 garlic, 3 eggs . Bread crumbs and Parm amt's are the same as Jean's. Topping with Sour Cream is a MUST! If I don't have any then I wait until I do. I havent' used the fresh Parm before and Jean you are sooo right. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gramcayo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
What a tasty way to use some of the abundance of zucchini many are experiencing! My husband and I loved it. I also added a splash of cayenne pepper sauce for a little kick. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was awful. I waited until it cooled to cut and followed all the directions. The taste was okay, but an appetizer? The cooking time was way too much for my oven also, and I used the LOW time. Don't waste your zucchini on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe is good. There is nothing wrong with it except to say that in my opinion it takes a lot of work to get to the end result. So I give it 3 stars based on that. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauriestamps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I liked this recipe. And at the same time I agree with several of the suggestions for imporvement. The first time I made it I went pretty much by the recipe. I have made it a couple of times since, tweaking it to my personal tastes. When I made it by the recipe I don't know if I didn't extract enough moisture from the zucchini after cooking it, or if I did something else a little wrong but the end result, while tasty, was much more souffle like than appears to be the case in the photo on the recipe. It still tasted good, but as others have mentioned it is fairly bland for my taste. Easy fix - add some jalepeno peppers. I quartered then thinly sliced my Zucchini. I halved, seeded, and thinly sliced the jalepenos. Rather than boil the squash I sauteed everything; onions and garlic first, followed by peppers then zucchini. My most recent modification is to add a little cumin to the spice mix. I can't agree more with the recommendation of using freshly grated cheese. Bottom line is I find this recipe a great starting point to which you may add ingredients or spices to suit your personal preferences. Wow I just had a thought ... what about some halved cherry tomatoes? Or maybe some halved black olives? Now I have to make it again soon just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I am a great lover of nearly all food and zucchini ranks high. I made this for my main course (yes, I know it's supposed to be a side, but veggies can serve as a main course for me...and the bread bulked it up). I actually had to end up eating something else it was bland...that's all there is to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Arenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wasn't sure whether to rate this 3 or 4 stars. It was not bad, it was just a bit lacking in something... perhaps I would have liked it a bit more creamy - like more of a quiche. Or maybe more cheesy... The mixture seemed quite dry as I was mixing it, but turned out a good texture when cooked. It was a healthy option though. I served with a bit of sour cream and cayenne pepper as recommended by some other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States