Zucchini Oven Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I made this for our Easter brunch and everyone LOVED it! I did have to add two extra eggs (for a total of 7 eggs) for the amount of veggies I cut up. I minced the garlic and left it in for more flavor and replaced the mushrooms with extra onions and zucchini. Also, I didn't need to add any butter, so it had a little less fat. This was the first Frittata I've ever made, and I think I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I, too, was confused by the recipe, and used my common sense that the eggs needed to be beaten first before stirring with the vegetables. With a few modifications, it was quite good. First, I took out the simmered vegetables so that they wouldn't get overdone, and added them back after the onionmushrooms were done. Like other reviewers, I also minced the garlic for flavor. I used 7 eggs (4 whole, and 3 whites), extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and added some italian seasonings (oreganobasil)towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
A great way to use all the zucchini from your garden. I used fresh picked "baby" zucchini and the frittata was fantastic. I have also substituted with cobly cheese and jack cheese. Both made excellent tasting frittatas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I am at a loss as to why this recipe got such high ratings. Your instructions were not very clear that I should use an oven-safe iron skillet (which I don't have)...also, I have made fritattas in the past, and you scramble the eggs BEFORE putting it into the vegetables. Your instructions would make scrambled eggs, not the light, fluffy fritatta that I was looking for. I had to change this recipe on the fly to make it turn out half-way edible. Please improve upon your instructions...also, there is a mention of butter in the steps, but not in the ingredients...I am confused!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This was excellent! Using all fresh summmer veggies is key. I prepared it differently than in the recipe. I sauted all the veggies together in the olive oil without butter or water. As others suggested I added extra eggs. I used a total of 10 whole eggs. I also added Emeril's original Essence instead of salt and pepper and monteray jack in place of the mozzerella and parm. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was an amazing dinner- I changed it a little. I only used 2 tablespoons of olive to simmer the zucchini and garlic and I used the other tablespoon to replace the tablespoon of butter used later in the receipe. I added scallions to the simmering zucchini and didn't bother to remove the garlic. Rather than whole milk mozzarella I used the part skim. The best was I added fresh sliced tomatos on the top and baked. Yummy!! My husband wants this dish again- he is taking left overs to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this dish as a breakfast for vegetarian guests with muffins and fruit on the side. They loved it! I only used 2 small zucchini, added a splash of tabasco with the seasoninngs, and I think I may have used shredded cheddar jack cheese (because it's what I usually have on hand), and it cooked up very nicely. I didn't bother with the broiler at the end. Made it in a deep cast iron skillet, and it dished out neatly and easily. Will happily make again when I need a meatless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I loved this Frittata. Pretty much stuck to the ingredients except I had no peppers (so added extra zucchini) and I used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. Next time I'll saute all the vegetables together rather than cooking the zucchini separately and grate the garlic and leave it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MGEE73
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Actually, I'd give this 4.5 stars. Overall, delicious! Made a few changes since I was trying to clean out the fridge too: 1/2 low sodium chicken broth and 1/2 water for more flavor, replaced bell pepper with 3 small Japanese eggplants and left out mushrooms (didn't have). Added freshly chopped parsley with the onion and sprinkled a handful on top right after it came out of the oven. Lastly, crumbled blue cheese instead of using mozz. - this brought it over the top for me since I love strong cheeses and this didn't overpower the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
love it! so quick and easy gives it a plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States