Zucchini Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great side dish. We had it with our Easter ham. I only had zucchini, so I used 2 of them instead of the yellow squash. Also added some leftover broccoli and a tablespoon of butter melted in the drained orzo. Good light flavor. It would be easy to add garlic or other seasonings to modify the flavor, but I liked it fine as it I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Quiet and understated, yet full of fresh flavor - the perfect side dish for our Chicken Cordon Bleu. Attractive too. Added fresh minced garlic, butter along with the olive oil, and fresh parsley rather than dried. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Loved it! Used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil to saute the onions and zucchini. I added about 1 tablespoon of garlic to the onions after the onions cooked about 3 minutes. I also added a couple of teaspoons of grated lemon zest along with the parsley at the end. Really nice, fresh flavor. For those of you who found this to be bland, adding the garlic & lemon zest really does add a lot of flavor. Next time I will only make 8 ounces of orzo, as I had a lot left over (I could see it was too much compared to the onion/zucchini mixture - so I left a good bit out, which is fine, because I can use this in another dish. Maybe a nice orzo salad). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this! And so did my squash hating hubby! I admit, I seldom follow a recipe exactly so I kinda winged it. I added more zucchini than called for and summer squash too, added a bit extra lemon juice and lemon zest at the end and the freshly grated parm cheese is the key to getting it down my hubby. I salt my pasta water when cooking it and that really helps to flavor the orzo. Nice mild flavor, I'd bet even kids would love it if my hubby did. You could also add in some mushrooms and a sprinkle of cooked bacon to add another flavor. Love it so much that in fact, I am making it tonight as a side dish to burgers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roughcolliemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Love this as a side dish! Delicious when Zucchini is in season. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I started this dish much like the popular 'Orzo with Parmesan and Basil' (recipe by DODIEJER) by sauteing the dry orzo in the olive oil with the sweet onion (and a little minced garlic for good measure) until the orzo became light golden in color. The diced summer squash was added next; it took little time to cook as I added chicken stock much like one does when making risotto, just a cup (or so) at a time -- stirring and adding more stock until the orzo is cooked to desired doneness. I finished the dish with the lemon juice (and zest), the chopped green onion, fresh parsley and then adjusted the seasoning. VERY satisfying side, but a tad skimpy on the squash. I'll either decrease the orzo next time or double the amount of zucchini ... which will be NO problem when my garden starts producing that ubiquitous veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I could see myself using what ever veggies are on hand in the future, but the Vidalia onion was perfect. The veggies to orzo ratio was off, I will scale back the orzo to maybe a half cup next time. I put a splash of lemon juice on each serving but Parmesan would work too. Depends on the mood. This is a light side dish, it complemented our grilled salmon perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muddy Paws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really love orzo! I added some broccoli and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really nice, but light on flavor like many said. I started out by following the recipe exactly but then added 1tbsp worcestershire sauce to add flavor. I didn't love that with this so I will try another flavor boosting idea next time. Oh and I added minced garlic. I had mine with season salted added, DH added parmesan cheese to his. We'll try it again though - we didn't hate it, just needs a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Really good! Used a good amount of lemon juice, Italian seasoning, and salt. Also poured a little good ev olive oil at the end. Really nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States