Zucchini 'Noodles' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
An interesting way to serve zucchini. I do have a mandolin so it did make it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Zucchini Noodles" recipe is a definite keeper! I had to ad-lib the recipe at the last minute when I realized that "my" mandolin (inherited) had very limited capacity (slicer only). I shredded my zucchini in my food processor, resulting in 1.5-inch-long spaghetti-width strips. I sprinkled the zucchini strips modestly with salt to encourage excess moisture to drain off them, and let them sit in a colander for 4 hours while I waited for my husband to return from work late. The zucchini appeared to be reduced in volume by about 1/3 at the 1.5 hour mark (lots of moisture drained off), with only a little moisture draining off them in the remaining 2.5 hours. I cooked the zucchini by throwing it in a pot of boiling spaghetti sauce (homemade from garden tomatoes). I enjoyed the end result far better than regular spaghetti (much lighter); however, my husband refused to eat it based on appearance alone (next time I will use a spirooli for better presentation!). Thank you Becka for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Used a veggie spiral slicer ($5 amazon) to slice the zucchini. I skipped the first two steps and just threw the slices in a cast iron skillet with sautéed garlic and olive oil. Seasoned with salt and pepper, a little butter and topped with fresh grated Parmesan cheese. Served with chicken marsala. Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I like the taste of this dish but it is very easy to overcook the zucchini, and then they are just too mushy. Best works with young zucchinis, where seeds are not well developed yet. Would not recommend it for large size zucchinis - the seeds will all fall of and the texture will not be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I saw a picture of zucchini noodles and it looked really good. I found this recipe and decided to try it. I read a bunch of the reviews and tweaked a few things. I used a julianne peeler to peel a huge zuke and a yellow summer squash. I saw that some people said they let it sweat for a while, so I let mine sit in a colander for about 4 hours. I did toss about 2 tsp salt in and mixed it up. I let the colander sit on paper towels and was amazed at how much water came out. Instead of boiling, I rinsed it off with my sprayer and really hot water. Then I laid it out and blotted it with paper towels to dry it off. Then I sauted it in the pan in olive oil and garlic for a few minutes. It was super good! I wanted to make the zuke again today but just chopped instead of noodles. I had so much it ended up into 2 colanders. I didn't salt them and noticed that after a 1/2 hr no water was coming out. I lightly salted one of them and almost immediately saw water start dripping out. I am hoping I can cook them the same and have the pieces taste as good as the noodles did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Everyone loves this. I bread it with Parmesan and Panko. Try the Chipotle-Panko. Cook it on a wire rack so it browns evenly. I've tried it on baking sheet and doesn't do well. A deep pan with wire rack takes 2X as long to cook but it's eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I used a mandolin for this fun recipe. We really liked this but along with some others, 1 minute was too long and my zucchini became limp, so I skipped the skillet and used this as a side with just a touch of butter & pepper. My husband, who has never cared for zucchini actually liked it. I think the process softens the texture and flavor. I will definitely make this again but will watch my boil time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this last evening, added some green and red peppers thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I did this a few weeks ago using the special cutter. I used olive oil and roasted them on the grill. I did not boil them at all or soak in water. Just cut toss in EVOO season, grill then sprinkle with parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie J. Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very, very good recipe to use the abundant zucchini from your garden!! I also used a vegetable peeler to make my "noodles" and used butter in place of the margarine. We love garlic so I used 3 cloves and cooked them briefly to get the raw taste off. Did not cook the additional 5 minutes (step 3) as this seemed like a long time and things would have gotten mushy. I finished up the recipe by only heating the "noodles" in the butter and garlic mixture. Served with Feta and olive meatballs also found on this site. Going to make these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States