Zucchini Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
(I used chickpeas instead of pinto beans and started with salted and roasted sunflower seeds in the food processor instead of tahini.) This hummous has an awesome taste. It was a nice compliment with warm, cilantro and lemon flavored rice. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redwings19wahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made this recipe after sampling some at a store. I have never had hummus before this. I must admit, this is fantastic!!! Even my picky toddlers loved it! I followed the recipe almost exact, I added an extra clove of garlic and a little extra olive oil to give it a creamier texture. Also, I made sure to scrape out all of the garlic and oil out of the pan with the zucchini. Definitely try this, it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Wonderfully tasty! I used 3 garlic cloves and 3 T. tahini, as others suggested, and drizzled in some more olive oil at the end, and also substituted chick peas for the pintos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Too much cumin for the amount of beans and zucchini! I think that if the cumin were cut in 1/2 and added with possibly another herb, this might really be good. I had high hopes for this, and will try to adjust it to my liking. I like the idea of zucchini in a hummus mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This makes a really nice light fluffy hummus! Also a great way to use up left-over grilled zucchini! I used chic peas instead of pinto beans and added 5 tbsp of the chic pea liquid to make it really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Didn't have tahini so I substituted sesame seeds, as suggested. Excellent! Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a good hummus for those 'eating for your type' I have used Black Eyed Peas also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I love this recipe. I'll make it again and again. I used chickpeas instead of pinto beans. We have an abundance of yellow squash from the garden this year and I think I'll try it with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yum - great with pinto beans also great with white beans! When I made it with pinto beans it looked more like authentic hummus... This recipe is in my hummus/bean dip rotation. We eat hummus a lot - like adult peanut butter. Thank you for posting, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I only put a 1/4 tsp. of cumin in and put lots of extra paprika. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieScarlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States