Zucchini Herb Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Was looking for recipes that use zucchini and tomatoes since my garden has an abundance and this caught my eye. I figured it can't be too bad with all that cheese. I read the reviews and agreed it seemed pretty bland. I used olive oil to fry the veggies, fresh herbs from the garden and chopped, another clove of garlic, and a half of a jalapeño pepper. I also substituted half of the cheddar with smoked cheddar. The cooking time was spot on and the zucchini came out crisp tender. After all the changes I'd give it 3.5 stars and probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is delicious! I used extra spice, and subbed mozzarella cheese (will use cheddar next time, it was a little stringy like pizza from the melted mozz.) Used extra tomatoes, and 1/2 c. rice. I love this, and next time will use more rice, it's a very good vegetarian meal. As so many others have noted, you could use many more veggies if you like & have on hand. Really fresh tasting, and the zucchini didn't get soggy as I expected it to. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
We LOVED this so much, my boyfriend has already asked me to make it again!! I followed the other reviewers advice and tripled the spices (not the salt) and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added mushrooms to it! A new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This casserole was fantastic! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it's perfect. Even my meat eater husband likes it. It's inexpensive, relatively quick and very easy. I've tried other all vegetable casseroles and they always seem to lack that depth of flavour. This recipe has plenty of flavor. It's become a staple in our home. I make it at least once, if not twice a month and it's always received compliments c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Added red peppers, more garlic and doubled seasonings. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This casserole was really easy to make. My husband loved it too! I will say I have to agree with some of the other reviews though, it was a little lacking in flavor. I even added extra garlic, but it was still a bit bland. My husband thought it was perfect with some Lawry's seasoned salt sprinkled over the top, so I'm glad he was pleased because he hates tomatoes and even complimented the zucchini. Overall it was a pretty big win at our house. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Made this with red quinoa instead of rice for more protein. Did not add onions as we cannot eat them, though we love them. I took other's suggestion on the amount of herbs and doubled them, adding more garlic as well. Since I had some fresh asparagus leftover, I added that along with red pepper to the zucchini as other also stated. Mixed in Parmesan cheese with the cheddar cheese. Did not have fresh tomatoes on hand so I used our home canned ones from last summer and it worked very well. VERY yummy. Had as a meatless meal and was very satisfying. My hubby is a meat and potatoes kind of guy but really enjoyed this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I am a vegan so I made this recipe without the cheddar cheese and replaced the vegetable oil with olive oil and I also added yellow squash which really helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States