Zucchini Herb Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I am glad I read the reviews on this recipe before making it, because it may have turned out rather bland otherwise. I added 2 more cloves of garlic, tripled the amount of seasoning (except the salt), only used 1.5 cups of cheese (monterrey jack w/jalapenos is great), and added red bell peppers. I also substituted white rice with instant brown rice, and the veg oil for extra virgin olive oil. Delicious! I make this once every month or two and we never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinveggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is a big hit with our family and for the company to whom we have served it. I increase the rice to 1/2 cup and cook the rice with one chicken boullion cube; only use 1 tablespoon of the oil (and I use olive oil); I use 1/2 cup of regular chopped onion instead of 1 cup of green onion; I doubled the spices and only used 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar in the casserole and 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar on top. GREAT recipe and a wonderful way to use the vegetables from my garden. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My entire family loved this meal (and I have very picky eaters)! I added 3 pounds cooked shrimp to it. It made a meal rather than a side dish. Add bread & a salad and you have an excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
My husband doesn't believe in dinner without meat, but when he tasted this dish, he exclaimed over it for no less than half an hour! I'm on Weight Watchers, and each serving was only six points! Add a bread stick or two and you have a low-point, complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Even after cooking the rice in chicken broth and the vegetables in olive oil, even after using fresh herbs rather than dried, this was still "eh"--boring. And oh, the sharp cheddar cheese just took a fresh taste and made it almost sharp and sour--would have been better without any of it. There were LOTS of leftovers, both on the dinner plates as well as the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Fabulous recipe! Did as previous reviewers suggested: tripled seasonings (except salt), added 1 more garlic clove and a few shakes of garlic powder, upped rice to 1/2 cup (used brown rice), added 1/2 of a red pepper, chopped. Also added 1 chopped up jalepeno brat, which I cooked with the zucchini & onions. Used sharp cheddar cheese. Family LOVED it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is a great idea, and a delicious way to serve vegetables. With a few alterations, this recipe is wonderful. To make the rice more flavorful, add vegetable stock and about a teaspoon of garlic salt instead of water while making your rice...it adds so much flavor. Then, I broil the zucchini and red onion in a broiling pan with a thin coating of olive oil and a seasoning rub including about a 2 teaspoons of each seasoning: garlic powder, cumin, pepper, oregano, and then I salt to taste. This takes about 10-15 minutes (or until they are lightly browned). I can't tell you how much flavor this adds to your vegetables (without adding all the fat that would get absorbed from frying them in a skillet). Then I just add the broiled vegtables to my cassarole dish that has the rice spread in the bottom. I mix the rice and veggies so that the seasonings are mixed into the rice. Then, simply top with the amount of cheese you want, pop back in the oven for 10 minutes at 350 degrees and dinner is served. This may sound like a bit more work, but trust me...its worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Wow! I was quite surprised by this recipe! And I don't even like zucchini! I served as a side dish with chicken. I doubled the rice and spices and cut the cheese in half. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Cheese + veggies == YUM! I made wild rice instead of white, which gave it a nice chewiness. I used red onion instead of green, 3 cloves of roasted garlic instead of one raw, 1 can of tomatoes instead of fresh, and 1.75 cups of a bistro mozzarella cheese blend instead of cheddar. Lots of changes, but tasty none-the-less. I used a spanish sweet paprika which really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
get two meals out of this one and wrap the leftovers in a tortilla shell the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States