Zucchini Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
We really enjoyed this. So refreshing as a summer salad. A perfect summer dinner with the shrimp added. I did shred the zucchini, sprinkle with a little salt and let sit in colander for an hour or so to drain much of the moisture. If it sits to long after it is made, you still need to drain it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is a fast and great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather1225

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Friendsville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is so good with a whole wheat tortilla or pita bread! It gets pretty soupy as it sits so I would recommend eating it fairly quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was looking for a no-cook recipe to use some zucchini and this fit the bill. The first time I made this exactly as written and it was good, although a bit wet. The second time I made it, I tossed the shredded zucchini and cucumbers in a salad spinner and spun out some of the moisture - made a huge difference! This recipe is easily adapted to any taste. I've substituted italian dressing mix for the ranch dressing mix. This is delicious with ripe tomatoes, and the addition of leftover cubed ham, smoked turkey, grilled shrimp, grilled salmon or mahi mahi. I use fat-free miracle whip in lieu of mayo and set the "additions" up buffet-style on the counter. Everyone can add whatever they like. This is a great summertime lunch or light dinner. Thanks, Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
After shredding the cucumber & zucchin place them in a clean kitchen towel and roll tightly to remove excess water. Using the mayonnaise and ranch dressing will then still pull out some water so be sure to drain or use a slotted spoon to remove any more water. One reviewer suggested this as a cole slaw, what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My son liked this for lunchtime sandwich! It makes a better sandwich spread than a side salad. Use the amount of mayonnaise you are comfortable with. Be prepared to add extra Ranch seasoning because the zucchini and cucumbers are rather bland. I think that the next time I make this, I might use pesto in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this as a side was tasty but needed more spices. Will try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
A great way to use up the cukes/zucchini in the garden. I didn't have ranch dressing mix and used Old Bay seasoning and didn't use the pepper. A very creative sandwich filling, especially with fresh sliced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
A really versatile recipe. We made many different variations of this; added chicken, used horseradish, added tomatoes, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I just made this recipe and it is delicious! I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup of low-fat Greek yogurt instead of the mayonnaise. I also drained the vegetable mixture as some others have suggested, added the ranch dressing mix directly to the vegetables, and saved the Greek yogurt to stir in last. The taste is not bland at all - possibly because I used the full packet of ranch dressing mix in the course of doubling the recipe, but I didn't even add salt or any other seasoning. Next time, I might try using poblano peppers instead of a green bell pepper, and might also add shredded carrots. Very simple recipe and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States