Zucchini Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was looking for a no-cook recipe to use some zucchini and this fit the bill. The first time I made this exactly as written and it was good, although a bit wet. The second time I made it, I tossed the shredded zucchini and cucumbers in a salad spinner and spun out some of the moisture - made a huge difference! This recipe is easily adapted to any taste. I've substituted italian dressing mix for the ranch dressing mix. This is delicious with ripe tomatoes, and the addition of leftover cubed ham, smoked turkey, grilled shrimp, grilled salmon or mahi mahi. I use fat-free miracle whip in lieu of mayo and set the "additions" up buffet-style on the counter. Everyone can add whatever they like. This is a great summertime lunch or light dinner. Thanks, Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is so good with a whole wheat tortilla or pita bread! It gets pretty soupy as it sits so I would recommend eating it fairly quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
A great way to use up the cukes/zucchini in the garden. I didn't have ranch dressing mix and used Old Bay seasoning and didn't use the pepper. A very creative sandwich filling, especially with fresh sliced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My son liked this for lunchtime sandwich! It makes a better sandwich spread than a side salad. Use the amount of mayonnaise you are comfortable with. Be prepared to add extra Ranch seasoning because the zucchini and cucumbers are rather bland. I think that the next time I make this, I might use pesto in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Good base recipe. Ive made this twice and Ive used bottled ranch dressing that I had an overabundance of both times. The first time as is its good. When I made this tonight I added in a heavy 1/4 c of shredded red onion. It needs to get cold it says serve immediately.. and you could.. but its better after it has a chance to meld together. My husband asked if this was the cucumber coleslaw like last time and I think that describes it perfect. A shredded carrot or 2 would also be good. I like that this is easily changeable to what comes out of my garden and crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
After shredding the cucumber & zucchin place them in a clean kitchen towel and roll tightly to remove excess water. Using the mayonnaise and ranch dressing will then still pull out some water so be sure to drain or use a slotted spoon to remove any more water. One reviewer suggested this as a cole slaw, what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some of the veggies from my garden. I used a purple bell pepper instead, added salt & pepper, chopped purple onion, and drained chicken from a can. Delicious on some toast with lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was a refreshing salad spread. I didnt have ranch seasoning so used prepared ranch dressing in place of the mayo & season mix. I also didnt have green pepper but used green onion instead. I added a touch of dill seasoning and let it chill as another user stated. It was a bit running, possibly from using the dressing, but overall pretty tasty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
It is a MUST to lightly salt and juice out the water in both veggies. Squeeze and re-squeeze before you add the dressing. I cut the recipe in half and had enough to feed 3-4 servings. My major complaint: too salty. The more you eat of it the more it 'grew on you.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this as a side was tasty but needed more spices. Will try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States