Zucchini Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delicious! I added a red bell pepper for some additional color and flavor. I took to heart the reviews that indicated the extreme importance of draining the zucchini well. I drained the zuchhini, pepper and onion. I also decided to go for a more of a quiche consistency rather that the dryer bread consistency. I used Krusteaz fat free honey cornbread mix and used slightly less (about 7 oz.). Perfect quiche consistency! Next time I might try baking or even dry sauteeing the veggies to cut back on the effort it took to drain everything. Very tasty! Great side dish! (I served with the German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut allrecipes.com recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Good, but I added 1/2 egg to the already two and to me the casserole came out a little dry. Next time I will stick with the two eggs. I also added 4 dashes of red pepper, 1/4 a red bell pepper and I squeezed as much water as possible out of the zucchini. In the future, I won't squeeze out as much water. I also added one chopped jalapeno pepper, 1/2 cup of sour cream and cooked bacon. If I make again, I think I will try sausage and I might leave out the cheese and only place on the top. 4 stars because of all the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was really surprised by how much I loved this recipe! It's one of my favorites on this site and I wouldn't change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wonderful flavor! Very good, the only issue I ran into on Thanksgiving with the recipe is with people who are weird about textures of their food. It has a little mushy texture. But if your not weird about the texture, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katileena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Added chopped pickled jalapenos and it was very good. I should have taken the time to squeeze dry the zucchini for it seemed to have a little too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This tasted a heck of a lot better than what I thought is was going to!!! I read some reviews and put a little salt on shredded zucchini then put in a colander for an hour. Afterwards, I followed what seemed to be the most important step according to the reviews: YOU MUST SQUEEZE AS MUCH WATER OUT AS POSSIBLE!!! I couldn't BELIEVE how watery fresh zucchini was. Since I read reviews first, I had none of that gooey issue. I decided to put all the cheese in at the same time. May try the original way next time. Either way, it exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very yummy, tastes just like corn casserole with zucchini. I doubled it and thought it looked like way too much zucchini for the cornbread batter. However, when it cooked the zucchini shrank and the cornbread expanded, turning out perfect. I did cook it for an extra 30 min or so. I took other's advice and added the cheese on top at the end. I used one onion and one leek, plus added a diced red pepper. I also cut the zucchini into small pieces instead of shredding it. For the cheese I used half extra sharp cheddar and half smoked fontina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
this is a great recipe I served this with spaghetti, and they went together great. I have had a lot of requests for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solowookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I had to put my own twist on it. I add 1 small can of Ortega diced fire roasted chilis (NOT jalapenos); frozen corn; diced red bell peppers, 1/4 to 1/2 cup coarse cornmeal. I have made this about 8 times in the last month and can't tell you how many people have requested and received the recipe. Also, this freezes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is only my second review on this site since as I am a cook few recipes really knock me out. This one did for sure. I made it as written leaving out the onion and adding frozen corn. I served it at a luncheon and not a crumb was left. I was soundly admonished and told that I better make double the recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States