Zucchini Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I love zucchini and corn bread so this combo was delicious! I may have baked this one a little too long so next time I would start checking to see if its set after 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very good and easy. My husband says can you make this next week too. Also my daughter ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was very moist and seemed more like cake than cornbread. I added 1/2 frozen corn (thawed). It tasted good, but I really wanted cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow this was really yummy. I used a generic corn bread mix that was only 6 oz in total and next time I will use either double the corn bread mix or one that is 8.2 oz like this recipe calls for. I used my slap chop to chop/dice 5 zucchinis and one large onion. I also added few dashes of hot sauce and garlic powder. Next time I will use 3 eggs instead of two so it binds more. To avoid extra wet zucchini after chopping, I put all of the zucchini on a double layer of paper towels and spread it out and patted it as dry as I could and added salt. I did notice that the paper towels were soaked through and my casserole was still very moist but not runny. I think next time I will use extra muffin mix to have it come out more like a muffin vs. a casserole but it was still really flavorable and smelled so good while baking. I am sure this can also be done with yellow squash too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shogan80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The only thing I did differently, was I didn't add salt. I really liked this and I believe it would have been better had I not put it in the "wrong" dish. I did as others said and that was to salt the grated zucchini and put in a colander. There was a lot of liquid when I squeezed it out. The directions said to put it in a 2 qt. baking dish and bake for an hour, which I did except I used an oblong dish, not round, and that made it too dry. I had it timed for 50 min. to coincide with another dish and I think it would have been done in 30. Next time, I will use a round dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe was very good. I am always looking for recipes that pack in plenty of vegetable goodness, but still adds other flavors to balance the dish. This dish could easily be a main dish on a night when I am trying to prepare a meatless dinner. When I made it, I used a rectangular dish and it was not very deep. When I served it, it was reminiscent of a quiche. My husband and I packed the left-overs for lunch over the next two days. It reheated well in the microwave. I also did not have the full 8 ounces of cheese. I used about 4 ounces when I made it and it was still plenty of cheese. I would like to experiment with this recipe to see if I could increase the amount of zucchini and also play with the depth of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Awesome! I followed the directions exactly and this came out delicious. Everyone in my family enjoyed it immensely and I will definitely make it again. My only feedback is that it was done a bit sooner than an hour; mine was pretty thin, as I used a large glass casserole dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have made this 3 times. Great flavor and an easy side dish. Made as is. Don't use too much shredded zucchini as it will be watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I tried a similar recipe but did not use but 3 cups of zucchini instead of 4 and it was moist but not like spoonbread. I am going to try letting getting out the liquid from the zucchini. I also did not use as much cheddar cheese but the recipe I saw said to use low-fat sharp cheddar. There was a review from a gentleman who was surprised by the commercial cornbread mix--good for him that he has only used cornmeal--I've seen the other cornmeal for over 40 years and it is sweet. Also, the recipe I had said to bake it for one hour. I can't imagine that length of time unless you put the mix in an 8 or 9 inch baking pan. This is really a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this with ingredients as written except with yellow squash- as far as pocess I benefited from many of your suggestions ie I salted and allowed it to drain and incorporated 2/3 of cheese into mix and reserved last bit for the last 30 min of baking. I liked this much more than anticipated- (BF swears he hates squash and ate two helpings)but next time I will make some changes 1) saute onions prior to adding to squash 2)make in rectangle baking dish or muffin tin as some of the best bits were the crunchy areas around the edge. and 3) experiment with some additions like red pepper as it needs a bit of color. Thanks for the unique dish and all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States