Zucchini Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
As so often happens, I made this exactly...except for all the changes. I didn't want something sweet, so I only used 2 tablespoons of sugar. Next time I'll probably leave it out altogether. I used broccoli instead of corn, in keeping with the not sweet theme. I also cooked them just like pancakes instead of in oil. With all those caveats, these were VERY yummy! I think next time I'll try using curry powder for the spice, since that sounds like it'd be very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was my first time making fritters, and they were absolutely delicious! My husband and I were eating them almost as fast as they came out of the frying pan. A couple changes I made, doubled the cumin, added 1 tsp of curry powder, 2 tbsp of grated parmesan cheese, no butter, and only used 1 tbsp of sugar. Like other reviewers say, these did soak up a lot of oil while they were frying, but the end result was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I LOVED this recipe, but as many have done, I changed things up a bit. I don't really like corn, so I didn't use any. I doubled the zucchini, only used 1 tsp. of sugar, didn't put the butter in the mix, and instead of using cumin, I used Curry powder. It gave it a wonderful flavor! I also felt it needed a sauce, so I whipped up some mayo, sour cream and grey poupon mustard. Delish! Oh, they were pretty darn greasy, as well. I did my best to sop it up with paper towels. But they were still a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
These were very good, but I think they needed more spice or a sauce topping to go with it. They did absorb a lot of oil, but I don't think anyone expected something fried to be healthy. My batter was initially very doughy before adding the vegetables but became quite watery afterwards, which worried me, but it turned out fine b/c they flatten to make easy silver dollar pancakes. I used whole wheat flour which tends to be drier, but with all the oil and veggies it turned out fine. I actually used a little more than 2 cups of zucchini and a whole can of corn. I think it could've used more zucchini. I'll definitely make this again w/ some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
They were so good but I am only giving 3 stars bc they soaked up WAY too much of the oil. If I can find a way to stop them from being so greasy I would make these all of the time! The ranch dressing really added a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Oh my goodness! I wish I could give 100 stars! These are absolutely amazing! Based on other reviews I just used a can of sweet corn and I halved the recipe and still had a ton of these things. They were wonderful by themselves and dipped in Ranch dressing. My 5yr old daughter loved them and my boyfriend finally begged me to take them away before he ate them all!! Haha I have a garden which is producing a ton of zucchini so I have a feeling I will be making these alot! I think next time I make them I will be doubling the amount of zucchini just to get more of the veggie into each fritter! Thank you SO much for this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These were really fantastic! Make sure to not make the balls too big. A few of mine were on the large size and the center was a little doughy. They would be great to serve with Chili or any backyard cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
this are YUMMY!!! the only thing i would change next time is to possibly add more zucchini.. and allot less sugar!.. the other thing that i didn't really like is that they absord allot of oil but what can you expect from fritters right? =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
We love these! I also like that these are a sneaky way to get my toddler to eat some veggies and a great finger food. I usually serve them with bbq chicken. I've added other veggies to them before as well (shredded carrots work well). They also freeze well for later use - good to know because this makes a big batch! No need to add cheese or dip them in ranch. They are tasty as is. You really should try making these. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
so so good! and so so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States