Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Really squeezed the zucchini dry first. Used gluten-free flour. I thought they were kinda crumbly, but they got rave reviews when I brought them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Omg! Make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was amazing. So moist and the icing really topped it off. I did not have dates so I omitted them and added chocolate chips. I also increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and used almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made gluten-free version using a mix of bob's red mill GF flour and coconut flour. Used 1/2 cup of butter and substituted 1/4 cup of applesauce for the remaining 1/4 cup of butter. Next time I will use coconut oil instead of butter. Omitted dried fruits and added chocolate chips. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups and didn't put on the icing. Also, I used wholewheat flour to make it a healthier snack for the kids. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teeags
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I am giving this recipe four stars because the instructions are clear and easy to follow and is such a treat! I had to make a few modifications due to my health concerns. I've made this recipe twice now;the first time, I only substituted the 3/4 c. w/about a cup of pure canned pumpkin. I found it to be very sweet and did not bother with the glaze icing. Last night, I modified the 1/2 c. white sugar + 1/2 c. brown sugar- and only used 1/4 c. of Splenda (I really wanted to try coconut sugar but did not have any on hand.) Also, instead of the 3/4 c. Margarine, I used about 1 c. canned pure pumpkin. Instead of all-purpose four, I used half white whole wheat and whole wheat four. I did not have raisins on hand and used currants instead. For the icing, I used an old recipe and creamed some light Country Crock butter, 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and Splenda and sprinkled toasted walnuts (a must!) on top. The end product is bar-like and moist. I appreciate this recipe because it is easy to follow and because you can't go wrong with dates, raisins, coconut, and zucchini in a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is excellent, however it is definately more of a cake than a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These were soo good. I didnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Pretty good flavor and very moist. I didn't have raisins so I added some mini chocolate chips which were good. Probably won't make again as it was definately very cakey - I was looking for something more like a chewy bar. Took these to work and most people seemed to like them, although I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These came out really well for me. They are cakey, as others have said, but moist, not dry. I added 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips, and I'm glad I did; I don't think the chocolate flavor clashed with the fruity elements. I also added 1.5-2 tablespoons extra confectioners' sugar to the icing to thicken it a little. I don't think the walnuts added much other than a nice crunch, though I did forget to toast them, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tupper Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States