Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I am called "THE BAKER" by friends and family....NEVER, NEVER, NEVER have I received so many compliments on, and recipe requests as I have for these delicious bars. I've made them 4 times in 2 weeks ! I used currants because didn't have any dates--worked fine. Also--using quality cinnamon (and adding extra) brought many inquires as to the "special ingredient" in the icing. Thanks for a new favorite !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
Very moist. I added cranberries (dried) because I didn't have dates and added chocolate chips. I would not do cranberries again but otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Four stars instead of five for two reasons: These are definitely not "cookie bars"...it's cake. Second, I didn't necessarily care for the dried fruit...it wasn't bad, just not my favorite addition. I'm absolutely making it again, but next time I'm dropping the raisins and dates, baking it in cake pans, and trying it topped with some sort of coconut pecan-type icing. I think that would be out of this world! All in all, if you're a fan of zucchini bread/cake, this is definitely worth trying! (By the way, I made a half batch in a square pan, and 30 minutes was a perfect baking time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
this recipe is FANTASTIC! it was very moist and delicious. i loved and so did my entire family, they were very skeptical at first when i told them it had zucchini in it (i'm the health nut in the family) but they ended up loveing it. i did not use the icing and used regular butter instead of margerine it was fine without it. i also omitted the raisins,dates and nuts, and instead added chocolate chips to half. very good, i will definitly be making this again! fyi it's more like a moist cake than a "cookie bar" like the recipe says but definitly worth making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
These are very good. I omitted the fruits and nuts, increased the coconut just a little, and added 1 C choc chips to the batter. Then I scattered some chips on the top after baking. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These bars are EXCELLENT! They are bars--not cake and the "icing" is actually a glaze. I've made them twice, both times to RAVE reviews. I left out the dates, used 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in the glaze, and sprinkled with finely chopped pecans vice walnuts. Make sure to cool completely before cutting. 5-stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These had really good flavor, but are more like a cake than bars. The coconut flavor is subtle, but present though the icing makes them a little too sweet and distracts from the yummy flavors. They are very light and fluffly and not as dense as I think bars typically are. Also, to get the nutrition value that is stated in the recipe the bars are pretty small for a serving. You would most likely eat 2-3 times that for a normal size serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
So good- I used all raisins since I didn't have dates on hand. Made the recipe exactly as written otherwise. Thanks for a yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is so good!!! I made it exactly as the recipe is and it's moist, sweet, a little chewy with the dates and the coconut justs adds that little something extra. I will definitely make these again. Next time though, I'll probably just put the nuts in the batter and then bake. The nuts look pretty on top if I was taking them over to a friends or for something special, but just for at home, I'll add them. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Great flavor! Best taste if not put in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States