Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I made this recipe with a few modifications. I only used 1 small box of raisins and a whole 16oz. bag of dates (cut in half). Didn't have enough powdered sugar so I mixed the cinnamon in the batter and then sprinkled the bars with powdered sugar when they cooled. They turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Love, love, love these bars. My favorite zucchini bars ever. I left out the dates as I don't care for them but otherwise left everything else as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good, but definitely need chocolate chips!! Used choc chips instead of dates. Is more of a cake than a bar, but very good flavor. I wondewr what it would be like baked in a loaf or bundt pan? I added some cinnamon (~1/2 tsp) to the batter and it was very good, plus doubled the cinnamon in the icing" -skipped the margarine in the icing too- just need vanilla, p. sugar, cinnamon and milk. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
this was a great "cake". I added choc. chips per the reviews, but that was a bad idea-the two flavors did not mix. I made it again-per the recipe-only adding some cinnamon and allspice to the mix, and it turned out great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
It was okay, they fell apart, it seemed more like cake than cookie bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
It isn't bad.. but I had to cook it much longer than it said, and maybe you should put a note about the consistency that the zucchini should be. It's terribly difficult to actually grate a zucchini (at least the massive zucchinis that tend to be forgotten about in my garden..) so i used a processor which may have made it too watery, which is my own fault. I think it's necessary to use the glaze (I wasn't going to as my mom's on a diet and it makes it a relatively healthy dessert without it), because otherwise it doesn't taste like much. BUT it is something to do with all those zucchinis we have massing about our kitchen, and the many loaves of bread in the freezers =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
The texture was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
this recipe is FANTASTIC! it was very moist and delicious. i loved and so did my entire family, they were very skeptical at first when i told them it had zucchini in it (i'm the health nut in the family) but they ended up loveing it. i did not use the icing and used regular butter instead of margerine it was fine without it. i also omitted the raisins,dates and nuts, and instead added chocolate chips to half. very good, i will definitly be making this again! fyi it's more like a moist cake than a "cookie bar" like the recipe says but definitly worth making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This got mixed reviews from my eaters :) It tastes all right, but the texture is just not pleasant. As other reviewers noted, this is NOT a cookie bar - it's like a bread. Mine came out very spongy, but I don't think I can blame that on the recipe since I modified it heavily. I put dried apricots, raisins, and orange zest and left out the prunes & icing. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar total, to replace the mixture of white and brown sugar. Next time around I will drain the zucchini in cheesecloth with a little sugar first for an hour to dry it out, and I'll use 1 cup of brown sugar. I'm keeping the apricots in for sure - they add a wonderful sweetness and flavor to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was very tasty. However, I found it was more like a cake then a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States