Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I apologize for changing ingredients, but when I don't like a certain something, I'll substitute. In this recipe, I omitted dates and raisins and used walnuts and also added about 1 1/4 cups chocolate chips. I also used 1/4 cup applesauce for some of the margarine. For the icing, instead of vanilla, I used some coconut syrup that I use for making frappucinos. It baked nice and moist with great flavor. I love it because it's another zucchini recipe that I can make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
very good, be warned batter very thick! used both dates and crasins. very sweet next time just one fruit, absolutely NO chocolate chips, (they only belong in cookies) did a brown sugar icing drizzled on the top. great consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is not a cookie bar, more of a cake, but it is fantastic! Everyone raved about it and wanted recipe. I didn't use the frosting recipe here, but instead used a coconut-cream cheese frosting recipe also on Allrecipes.com. Then topped with toasted coconut, it was sooooooo good! Also, I omitted the raisins and dates, but added walnuts in the cake, made it really good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My new favourite zucchini recipe! The glaze makes a special touch. I left out the dates, but this would be great with carrotts if zucchini are not in season. Will make again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used applesauce instead of margarine and coconut milk instead of milk... It was amazing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Another great way to use zucchini. We didn't make the the glaze because the sweetness would've been overkill. I used half a cup of apple sauce and only a quarter cup of margarine, also reduced the sugar to a total of 3/4 cup (even down to half a cup probably would've been fine as they were still quite sweet). I decided to add the cinnamon to the bars as I wasn't using the glaze. I think the raisins or dates could've been omitted, but that's just personal preference. My son loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These had really good flavor, but are more like a cake than bars. The coconut flavor is subtle, but present though the icing makes them a little too sweet and distracts from the yummy flavors. They are very light and fluffly and not as dense as I think bars typically are. Also, to get the nutrition value that is stated in the recipe the bars are pretty small for a serving. You would most likely eat 2-3 times that for a normal size serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These bars are EXCELLENT! They are bars--not cake and the "icing" is actually a glaze. I've made them twice, both times to RAVE reviews. I left out the dates, used 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in the glaze, and sprinkled with finely chopped pecans vice walnuts. Make sure to cool completely before cutting. 5-stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Used only coconut & chocolate chips instead of the dates, etc. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
So good- I used all raisins since I didn't have dates on hand. Made the recipe exactly as written otherwise. Thanks for a yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States