Zucchini Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
We all loved this. I used 1/2 c rum in the cake because of the other reviews that said you could not taste it with the 1/3. We enjoyed it. I thought the glaze was going to be too strong when I first made it but it mellowed nicely overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We all loved this. I also used 1/2 cup rum in the batter, but only 1 tbsp and the rest water in the icing. The whole thing was eaten including the crumbs. It is a very rich and dense cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
The zucchini does make this a very moist cake. It is very tasty as chocolate cakes go. The rum in the cake itself is pretty much undetectible, but in the glaze it is overpowering. Next time I would skip the glaze and just dust with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really, really good! This cake came out very moist. Nobody would believe there was zucchini in it. This could be a new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this for a big family gathering yesterday and never told them it had zucchini until after they ate it. Everyone was so suprised. They loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Ironspine
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Moist, but not too moist. Perfect chocolate flavour. Added additional 3/4 cup of flour and used 1/2 cup of rum for high altitude baking. Cake is tastier the following day. Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Super good and moist. I didn't have any white rum so I used Captain Morgan instead and I used a different Butter/sugar/rum glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmthomas66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Cake was raw in the middle. I had to keep putting it back in the oven for about 30 minutes extra...total of 1.5 hrs. What a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I added only the confectioners' sugar on top instead of the rum/glaze and I put Quik instead of cocoa powder. It was good, I would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
FABULOUS recipe. I will hang onto this one! Loved the undetectable, moist addition of the zucchini; the subtle rum flavor; the chocolate... I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the glaze to make it an all-chocolate cake, and I included 1/2 cup of rum in the batter. Other than that, no changes necessary. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bruss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States