Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Used blueberries instead of chocolate, yogurt instead of milk, and to make healthier applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 c of sugar, they came out great. Kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Too sweet! Reduce the sugar by 30-50% if you are going to double the choc. chips. Wonderfully moist though, even with 100% whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Subs half oil with yogurt. Added 1/8 cup of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I was disappointed with the muffins - after reading all the reviews. The "most helpful" review said it was the best muffin recipe on this site. Uh-unh. It's an ok muffin, but not exceptional. I made it as written & with the substitutions of whole wheat flour & applesauce. Neither version was anything more than o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I always make a double batch and it makes 24 regular size muffins and 24 mini muffins. I use all coconut oil in place of vegetable oil. One shredded apple in a double batch adds a lot of moisture, but is not necessary. I make these every year when we get giant zucchinis from our CSA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Look no further! These are moist, light & very delicious! Your children will gobble them up in no time! I like to use 1/2 the amount of oil recipes call for, added more milk, & used cocoa powder for a chocolate, chocolate chip treat. I did triple the recipe (had tons of fresh zucchini) so I used 1/2 C cocoa & made 2 doz muffins & 1 loaf. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Well, these are just plain awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, only I added more chocolate chips. At least, I assume I did- when it comes to chocolate chips, my measuring cups need not apply! I made these into mini muffins (I am out of cupcake liners, and if you could see the sad state my ancient, but much loved, regular sized muffin tins are in, you would know why I am hesitant to bake in them whilst they are naked!)...and they took about 12 minutes to get that lovely brown color. Very moist, very delicious, and I thank you for the recipe...I am sure it will be a usual suspect in my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were excellent! I used half AP and half whole wheat flour, canola oil instead of vegetable, regular sized chocolate chips, and pecans instead of walnuts, all based on what I already had on hand. They were wonderful and they only thing I would change would be to add more chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Brought these to preschool when it was our turn to bring snacks and they were a huge hit! I even upped the nutritional value by using 3/4 c. whole wheat flour, 1/4 c. applesauce and adding extra zucchini. Did leave out the walnuts though. My 4 y/o frequently requests these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These muffins are absolutely delicious! It's a nice way to sneak in some veggies to my picky 3 year old. I did make some substitutions to make them even healthier. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup all purpose. I also used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, and zero calorie sweetener for baking instead of sugar. Lastly, I sprinkled some wheat germ on top right before baking. They came out moist and delicious. Some of the best muffins I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States