Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Wow, wow, wow, wow... Did I say WOW?! I made these for the daughter of a family I nanny for who will barely eat veggies. This sounded like the perfect way to sneak some in. After making 12 muffins, I had enough to fill a small ramekin and make a giant muffin that I thought about keeping for myself. After one bite, I wanted nothing more than to take the other 12 home myself! Only changes: I used 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1/4 c applesauce, and 1/4 c veg oil. The only thing I didn't do that I'll do next time is peel the zucchini before shredding, therefore making the zucchini completely invisible. Overall, this is the best muffin recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These muffins are delicious!! I took some of the other suggestions. I doubled the chocolate chips and added a shredded, peeled apple with the zucchini. I did not have mini choc. chips, but regular worked just fine. For added fibre, I used half whole wheat flour. I only added half the oil - still very moist! I don't like nuts in muffins, so left them out. I doubled the recipe and it made 18 large muffins. Note: the batter is VERY thick, but once the zucchini is added, is perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My family loves these muffins. I make them often. The last time I made them, I grated 2 apples and added them to the batter. The muffins came out incredibly moist and sweet. My son loved them so much he insisted that I post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is a fantastic way to use up zucchini. I make mini-muffins, as opposed to full-sized, and my kids (and husband) eat them up! My changes: a dash of nutmeg, dash of ginger, dash of cloves. A 4oz cup of applesauce with a splash of oil to complete the 1/2 cup and brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These were great, however I did make a few changes. I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil--it's what I had on hand. I also used the regular sized chocolate chips--not mini, and used 1/2 cup of them. These are great--especially warm or reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I have made this recipe several time now. My daughter, who will eat nothing green, asks for these muffins! She even grates the zucchini to go into them. I have made them with all the oil and half oil and hald applesauce -- both are great, can't really tell a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
So easy and SO delicious! I did what other reviewers did and used double the chocolate chips. I also grated an apple and put it in. Gave it a little more flavor. Very moist. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I added a pinch of cinnamon instead of the full amount, used lime juice instead of lemon juice(because I was out) and added more chocolate chips. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinf31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
These were fantastic muffins! I love zucchini bread and wanted something that could hold up better than sliced bread. I followed the recipe exactly except to add a bit more chocolate chips. If you try this recipe, please keep in mind that you can taste zucchini, it is not like a regular choc. chip muffin! My kids did notice a difference, but I will keep trying to persuade them to eat! I plan on making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
The second time I made this, I liked it much better. I don't know if I didn't cook it long enough, or what. I do know that the second time I followed the recipe the way it was (plus extra choc chips) and the first time I did half oil and half applesauce... but I don't know if that was what made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States