Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These muffins are absolutely delicious! It's a nice way to sneak in some veggies to my picky 3 year old. I did make some substitutions to make them even healthier. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup all purpose. I also used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, and zero calorie sweetener for baking instead of sugar. Lastly, I sprinkled some wheat germ on top right before baking. They came out moist and delicious. Some of the best muffins I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
AWESOME!! I made these for a swim meet and they were gone in 2 min!! I changed the recipe up just a bit for a higher protein "punch" using whole wheat flour and almond "flour" also used coconut oil! Only complaint is I didn't make enough :). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Gehrts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
AWESOME MUFFIN!! Make sure to bake for the time given or else the chocolate chips will fall into the muffin. Can be baked without the zucchini. Moist and tasty for everyone to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hede.jt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I am normally a big fan of zucchini muffins like this. I could not find my usual recipe, but found this one with rave reviews and gave it a try. I followed the recipe exactly, but they were dry, bland and there was far too much cinnamon for my liking. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because they were still all eaten. Normally I puree the zucchini so the kids do not see it, so the shredded zucchini was a tough sell for the kids; although they still ate them. I have found my original recipe and will go back to that one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
So good!! I didn't measure the zucchini, just shredded a medium sized one. I used 1/2 to 3/4 cup of MINI chocolate chips (the mini work so much better), didn't use any nuts, and replaced the oil with applesauce. They are so yummy, and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing recipe! I'm not much of a fan of zucchini, but, I really liked. Def will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great alternative to traditional muffins. I did sub both 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 canola oil for the amount called for. Also used equal parts combination of unbleached a.p. flour, whole wheat flour, and almond meal. Additionally used 1/2 amount of turbinado sugar. Turned out fabulous. (16 servings size)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
VERY GOOD ! thanks. I did omit the choco chips though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Seriously wonderful muffins. Used all applesauce instead of oil and it did not become that dense/spongy muffin applesauce sometimes makes it. Light, fluffy and moist-my husband loved them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were the perfect accompaniment for our breakfast today; not only delicious, but allowed me to use up the last of the zucchini in the fridge. Bonus! I did use 1/2 w. wheat/all purpose flour and 1/2 applesauce/oil; peeled and shredded the zucchini finely so it would blend in. I used pecans since I didn't have walnuts and let the 1/4 cup of choc. chips overflow just a bit. :-) The leftovers will be perfect for a quick pre-church Easter breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe, Janet--I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States