Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgrayii
Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This cake was irresitable right out of the oven!!! Couldn't keep my fork away.....very moist....I used milk choc chips, didn't need anything else....no whip cream or ice cream....plain with a large glass of milk....delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good recipe as written. Made this yesterday, and even tho I lacked the choc chips and my measurements weren't spot-on, it came out great. Pressed and squeezed the moisture from my zucchini very well before using. Made it into two 8X8 pans so I could share it and the amount worked fine. Hubby and I had it with some Turkey Hill special chocolate flavor ice cream - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Exceptionally good zucchini cake. I used both green and yellow zucchini and put the chips on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I loved the fact that the chocolate disguises the zucchini. Although I am a huge chocolate lover, the next time I will cut the chocolate chips down. The cake is so moist and full of chocolate flavor that the chocolate chips made some areas of cake too "moist", like big area of melted chips. I think adding nuts to this would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Really good. I did increase the cocoa powder by 50%, used far less chocolate chips (a full cup was way too much for me, and next time I might use mini chocolate chips instead) and replaced both the oil and butter with unsweetened applesauce, and it turned out delicious and moist! Very satisfying for chocoholic health nuts like me. :) And a great way to sneak in a little extra veggie intake! I'm not sure why one reviewer squeezed the moisture out of his/her zucchini, because generally when you bake with zucchini the idea is that the vegetable provides some necessary moisture to the finished product so you DON'T want to press it...but I guess it depends on your moisture preference. I would recommend not squeezing your zucchini though, whether you're making this recipe or brownies or zucchini bread, but then again I love moist cakes/brownies/breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was so good! The whole family loved it, and had no clue that there was any zucchini in it. We followed the directions exactly. It reminded us of Chili's Molten Cake. Perfectly done!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Very very good texture and flavour - moist with chunks of the half melted choc chips. I top with ganache - Voilà - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
If you love chocolate, you'll love this cake. As one reviewer wrote, the cake is very dense, but that's how I like my chocolate baked goods. If you want it to be more like the molten lava cakes, put more chocolate chips. I did also wring the excess water out of the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious. I used applesauce for the oil but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. I did NOT squeeze out the moisture in the zucchini and came out perfectly moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States