Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is yummy! I just made a half sized batch so I could bake it in my toaster oven (8X8 pan) so as not to heat up the house. I grated the zucchini and half the onion, mincing the rest, sprinkled the mixture lightly with salt, let it rest for a half an hour, then squeezed it as dry as I could in cheesecloth (you'd be surprised hour much liquid come out-I know I was). I upped the baking mix to 1 cup, decreased the salt to a pinch (because the veg had already been salted), and it came out great! I cut it into small (about 1-1/2") squares, and stuck them with toothpicks to make little bites (about 36). It should be perfect for the potluck function I'm about to attend, because certainly most people won't want to eat huge portions in this heat. I think the key to making them solid enough to stick on a pick is draining the veg. I just tried another one (oh, darn, I just had to do it) to be sure they'd lift from the pan easily without falling apart, and they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very easy. Took it to my kids potluck at her camp she loved it, the kids loved it, and it was a huge hit! I'm a qualified critic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good recipe. I cooked the dish in a jelly roll pan which worked well. The insides were still a little mushy, so the next day, I browned the cut squares on a vented pizza pan and that worked well to crisp them a bit and make them more appetizer-ish. Next time I would use less eggs and more garlic. FYI - 2 zucchinis made the right amount (4 cups grated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I really loved this recipe. It was simple and tasty. I grate donly about 3 cups of zucchini because I am not a huge zucchini fan. It came out amazing. Evenmy picky brother who eats very little liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Recently made this for a Xmas party and it was a big hit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
GF, didn't have sharp cheddar cheese used mexican blend. was kind of soggy, back to oven for a little more time. after I made a face. It's a good starter recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSTERV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I agree with other reviews that is the texture of a breakfast casserole. But it is a great appetizer when you serve it with a spaghetti sauce to dip. I cut back on the garlic, only used 3 cloves and I used 2 cups of bisquit mix, laid my shredded zucchini on paper towel to help control the moisture. I used Kraft Italian 5 cheese and added basil too. You could add so many different things to this recipe and it would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good appetizer and it went over very well at the beach party today! I had doubled this recipe and made 2 at once so I would have one for another party tomorrow! Gotta love long holiday weekends! The only change I made to this recipe was to up the biscuit mix to 2c and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been a little too loose to use as finger food. Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great recipe! It's very good as its, but coming from the south, I think everything is better with bacon added! Crumble fry about six strips of bacon and add to this recipe and...yumm-yumm! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States