Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I was humored that the reviews were so inconsistent. Some said it was bland, others said it had too many competing flavors... So I had to give it a shot. I made it pretty much according to recipe, but I only made a half-batch. The only changes I made were using gluten free biscuit mix and accidentally adding a little too much parmesan (about an extra tablespoon or so). Even though it was only half, I still needed to cook it about 25 minutes, so I suspect a full recipe would have taken longer than stated in my oven. Also, I let it set up for a couple hours before cutting it since I wanted to take it to a potluck anyway. It held its shape well, and I was pleased with both the look and the taste. I wasn't blown away though, and I don't know if I'd make it again, but there's nothing wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Wow this was delicious. My boyfriend hates zucchini, but he will try one bite of anything I make. He actually said it was very good and had two servings. It is very simple but flavorful. I would give it a five star rating but I think a little more seasoning would be good, possibly chunks of cooked bell pepper or jalepeno would be nice or couple dashes of hot sauce or peper. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is yummy! I just made a half sized batch so I could bake it in my toaster oven (8X8 pan) so as not to heat up the house. I grated the zucchini and half the onion, mincing the rest, sprinkled the mixture lightly with salt, let it rest for a half an hour, then squeezed it as dry as I could in cheesecloth (you'd be surprised hour much liquid come out-I know I was). I upped the baking mix to 1 cup, decreased the salt to a pinch (because the veg had already been salted), and it came out great! I cut it into small (about 1-1/2") squares, and stuck them with toothpicks to make little bites (about 36). It should be perfect for the potluck function I'm about to attend, because certainly most people won't want to eat huge portions in this heat. I think the key to making them solid enough to stick on a pick is draining the veg. I just tried another one (oh, darn, I just had to do it) to be sure they'd lift from the pan easily without falling apart, and they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very easy. Took it to my kids potluck at her camp she loved it, the kids loved it, and it was a huge hit! I'm a qualified critic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good recipe. I cooked the dish in a jelly roll pan which worked well. The insides were still a little mushy, so the next day, I browned the cut squares on a vented pizza pan and that worked well to crisp them a bit and make them more appetizer-ish. Next time I would use less eggs and more garlic. FYI - 2 zucchinis made the right amount (4 cups grated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I really loved this recipe. It was simple and tasty. I grate donly about 3 cups of zucchini because I am not a huge zucchini fan. It came out amazing. Evenmy picky brother who eats very little liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Recently made this for a Xmas party and it was a big hit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
GF, didn't have sharp cheddar cheese used mexican blend. was kind of soggy, back to oven for a little more time. after I made a face. It's a good starter recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSTERV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I agree with other reviews that is the texture of a breakfast casserole. But it is a great appetizer when you serve it with a spaghetti sauce to dip. I cut back on the garlic, only used 3 cloves and I used 2 cups of bisquit mix, laid my shredded zucchini on paper towel to help control the moisture. I used Kraft Italian 5 cheese and added basil too. You could add so many different things to this recipe and it would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States