Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this scaled down for 3-4 people. I only had two zucchini's and didn't know what to do with them. I did not pre-cook them and they came out tender and not mushy. I used italian seasoned bread crumbs for a topping because it was what I had on hand. After I baked at 425 for 20 min I added 1/2 cup of mozzerella on top because I love cheese! I think it came out perfect and a great change from my plain old steamed zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Just made this for my first time for a xmas dinner for 20 and everyone kept talking about it. I didn't even get to try it first so I just had faith... I used half zucchini and half yellow squash - definitely no need to boil or pre-cook the veggies at all -- that would turn them to total mush. It is rich and salty because of the type of cheese used -- don't skimp on the squash. My pan was filled about half way, but next time I'll fill it to the top with veggies and it will be less rich. But seriously so great tasting I could have eaten 4-5 servings and it's probably even better the next day. This is almost the exact same recipe as the sensational and very popular artichoke heart dip. Just combine mayo, Romano cheese, and chopped artichoke hearts, sprinkle top with bread crumbs or crackers and bake. People will literally not leave this dip at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Great vegetable casserole! I served it for dinner guests. One guest asked what it was. When I told him it was zucchini he said he didn't like zucchini but would try it. He had 3 huge helpings and asked for the recipe! Lots of flavor. I couldn't find just romano chesse so substituted with Shredded Parmesan,Romano and Asaiago cheese off the dry good shelf at the grocery store. This replaces my greenbean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
The only reason for the 4 star rating is because I used this recipe as a starting point, then did my own thing to make it suitable to our taste. I sauted zucchini, yellow squash, onions, and mushrooms, then mixed all the veggies with seasoned croutons and diced fresh tomatoes. I decreased the grated parmesan to 2 Tbsp. and added a handfull of shredded mozzerella to the mayo and egg mixture. It was yummy, yummy, yummy!! I would never have thought to use mayo and egg as a sauce - but it was really wonderful in the casserole. I'll be making this again... I may try adding green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Very tasty! I used one large zucchini for a 4-serving meal, and it was plenty. I also used light mayo. Great recipe for a CSA! Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This casserole was very tasty and extremely simple to make. I did not dot the top with butter and I used light mayo and parmesan cheese to cut down on the fat and it tasted wonderful. I also thought that it was going to turn out a little soupy, so I added about one cup of fresh bread crumbs. Thank you for the great way to use up my zucchini harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I'm not a veggie lover but this was a tasty way to get some zucchini in the family. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I was very happy with it, but did make a couple of changes....used a cheddar/jack mix of cheese instead of the romano and when it came out of the oven, grated romano over the top.......also, did NOT cook the zucchini first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was the first meal I made for my partner and I was so excited to have a romantic dinner at home. After taking one bit I called for pizza. My partner, being kind, ate a few more bites, but was happy when the pizza arrived. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I had a bunch of zucchinis on hand and needed to get dinner done in a hurry; thought this recipe looked great in a pinch, but made some big changes to drop the fat content and speed up the prep. I grated the squashes using a food processor and skipped the parboiling entirely (zucchini still comes out of the oven nice and tender.) I was out of mayo, but had garlic aioli on hand which worked just fine. I also skipped the butter and crackers on top, and added a finely diced serrano pepper into the mix to give it some zip. Came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States