Zucchini Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Definitely had to tweak this recipe even the first time making it. Stuffing has to be doubled and has to be made more according to specs on the box, not just with 1/4c butter. I used 2-6oz boxes, 1/4c butter, and about 2c water instead of 3c total from combining 2 boxes of Stove Top Stuffing. Made for the stuffing being a little more dry and able to receive more of the juicy filling and soak up a little. I only chopped up 3 medium sized zucchini, which when combined with sauce, yielded WAY more than the 1 box of stuffing would have been able to handle is also why I went with 2 boxes. I also added 1-14oz can of mushrooms, drained, and 1-14oz can petite diced tomatoes, drained, to the soup/sour cream sauce. Saute all veggies together with salt/pepper/addl home-blend of seasonings instead of just boiling zucchini, then added soup/sour cream to it in the pan to warm it all thru and mix together properly. I also added in 1/4c shred cheddar and 1/4c 6-cheese blend for additional 'glue' in the soup mixture. Spread half stuffing on bottom of 13x9 pan, as again, the veggie/soup mix was WAY more than a 2qt casserole dish could have handled...spoon in filling mixture, top with remaining stuffing. I then added a sprinking of cheddar on top, baked for 30min. Came out WONDERFUL with my modifications. Stuffing was made dry enough that it was not too squishy or too dry after combining filling and baking. Great microwaved as leftovers, would freeze VERY well for pulling out later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greeny78
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
After reading lots of reviews on several similar recipes for zucchini casserole, I modified it: I sauteed my onions and carrots until tender and seasoned them with Spice Islands 'Beau Monde' blend. I only cooked my zucchini (sliced and then halved, not chopped) for five minutes. I did not boil it for five minutes, I added it to boiling water and drained it after five minutes..the finished product was perfectly tender but NOT mushy (groty, as we say in CA). I used chicken flavored stuffing and cream of chicken soup, and added a bit (maybe 1/4 cup) of sharp cheddar cheese on the top. Finally, I used a covered casserole dish. That way the stuffing wasn't dried out as some have noted. Very good main dish with salad and white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I had lost an old recipe that was similar. This is an easy, especially with a food processor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Our family just started eating zucchini's and I wanted to try this recipe. I used this recipe for the first time yesterday and our family fell in love with it. This will definitely be one of my favorites. I followed the instructions and everything turned out perfectly. I wasn't sure how much salt water to put into the pot for the zucchini's but I used only enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Then, I waited for the zucchini's to have an almost translucent appearance with some crunchiness. I also enjoyed the sour cream flavor (even though I don't like sour cream) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I loved the idea, but it came out kind of bland. Adding chives and garlic over onions would have picked it up a bit. Next time I plan to grilling the zucchini first, to see if that helps with the water content and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is very good! I was missing two ingredients and didn't want to make a trip to the grocery store so I used cream of celery soup and replaced the carrots with fresh tomatoes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Three adult men in our home raved and raved about this recipe begging me to keep it and make it again in the near future. I've never seen them eat so many helpings of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I loved it. The shredded carrots had a nice crunch (DH said "raw"). I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. Made a few minor changes to make it more to our liking. Used half of a medium onion, shredded one carrot, and used half of the butter. I mixed it all together, baked for 10 minutes then topped with cheese for the last 10, per other suggestions. It's a quick and easy recipe for leftover zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great! I added diced chicken breast to the zucchini mixture and substituted Greek yougurt for the sour cream. Makes a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States