Zucchini Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a great side dish. It def. wasn't substantial enough for an entree. I added mushrooms, used less than a 1/4 cup of oil, and added italian seasonings and garlic to give it some more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
The final outcome was OK, it was a little watery and seemed too oily. It tasted good but felt a little sick afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish. I used Italian style breadcrumbs and followed other reviewer's advice by cutting down the oil to a 1/4 cup. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This is a good zucchini casserole, but you need to make some adjustments. 1/2 cup of olive oil is just WAY to much. The first time I made this it made me feel sick, it was so oily. So, now when I make this dish I add half the oil and use italian style bread crumbs instead of the cereal. Only use 1/2 c. bread crumbs tho, otherwise the whole dish will turn mushy. Other than that spice it up a bit with onion and garlic powder and this dish is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Delicious and 'light'! I only had about 6 cups of zucchini instead of 8 (like the recipe calls for). I definitly noticed the lack of zucchini. I used Italian flavored bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes. I also took other people's advice and added more cheese (a whole cup extra). In my opinion the recipe could have even been better with MORE cheese. Go figure. I cut the amount of oil in half tp 1/4 cup, otherwise it is just way to greasy. Also, I added about 1/4 parmesan cheese to the mixture as well. If you follow the recipe exactly and add the corn flakes instead of bread crumbs, make SURE that add enough spices (Italian seasoning to be specific) to the mixture otherwise I don't see how there will be enough flavor. My boyfriend and kids LOVED this recipe. If I make this again next time I think it would be delicious with some fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This dish was alright. I made almost exactly as directed, but did cut down slightly on the oil as advised in other reviews. Didn't have a whole lot of flavor. Maybe more cheese or garlic powder would help. Not in any hurry to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Very good taste, although if you plan on using some for leftovers don't put in any breadcrumbs or cornflakes because then it turns into mush. We're big fans of eating leftovers in our house, so next time I'll omit breadcrumbs/cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Vermont, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
I liked this a lot, but will agree with using about 1/2 the oil, and I added about 1 T garlic powder. The corn flakes were yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This was another hit! I misread the teaspoon measurement for basil and put in 1 Tablespoon (instead of 1 teaspoon) and people still loved it. I thought it was a bit oily with 1/2 cup of olive oil, so next time I might put only 1/4 cup or no olive oil. I was worried that the basil was overpowering, but there weren't any leftovers. Thanks for posting this recipe Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very tastey! I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States