Zucchini Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I took some suggestions from other reviews and added garlic powder, italian seasonings and mushrooms. It came out great...very flavorful. It would make a great side dish at holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was so good! My husband who is not a huge fan of zucchini went back for seconds! I did add cooked chiken in which I added salt, pepper, garlic and ceyenne pepper to and to me it made the whole thing a true supper! YUMMY! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I love this recipe. It's one of my favorites now. I always use more cheese and usually substitute seasoned breadcrumbs. Sometimes I add onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Very good! I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes because that's what I had in my pantry. I loved this recipe! Finally a veggie recipe I like. I might try adding some cooked chicken next time to add some protein. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
My husband and I loved this. Based on earlier reviews, I cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons, and added the cheese in the last 10 minutes. (though I let my husband shred the cheese and it was closer to about 4 cups than one). If you have a picky eater that is non-vegetarian, my 8 year old picky eater turned into a vacuum cleaner with the addtion of a few bacon bits mixed in at the table. The store bought real bacon bits cuts down the fat from home cooked bacon and really added some flavor that the kids loved. This will show up again on the menu at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was excellent! I made it with bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, used both yellow and green squash and added chopped vidalia onions in place of the red peppers. I used margarine instead of oil and added garlic powder and an extra cup of cheese....I had NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used a mix of zucchini and yellow squash. So pretty to look at, and tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I cut the recipe in half and only used l/2 the oil and added Italian seasong and garlic powder and put more cheese on top the last ten minutes. With only half the recipe it only took 30 minutes to bake. We really like it. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
A great dish to make if you have heaps of veggies you need used up. I made a number of changes, the most significant being leaving out the eggs and cutting down the oil (seeing as previous reviewers found it somewhat mushy). I added chopped eggplant, tomato, and onion as well as 3 cloves of minced garlic - tossing the whole thing with italian seasoning, salt and pepper and fresh basil. I put a thin covering of bread crumbs on top instead of mixing it in (which would also cut down the mushiness), and added a layer of cheese in the last 10 minutes in the oven. At 40 minutes, the veggies were crisp without being overcooked, which in my book made them perfect! While I wouldn't have thought to put on breadcrumbs before finding this recipe, they made it more filling and added a nice flavour. The whole thing was so tasty, that despite the fact that I thought I had made HEAPS, every last bit was gobbled up! I think this would be a great recipe to make for a potluck dinner - incredibly simple but SO satisfying and tasty that it makes you look like you put in a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I didn't cook this recipe quite long enough, so the zucchini was al dente... After reading other reviews, I think that may be preferable to over cooking. :) We still enjoyed eating it but think it would be better with more cheese (maybe sharp cheddar) and spices. The recipe makes a LOT, though it says 8 servings. Since it is a side dish, it would probably serve 12 or more. I might try this again with some boneless skinless breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States