Zucchini Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've been making this casserole for a lot of years. The only difference is I parboil the zucchini and carrots until tender crisp, then cool and add pre-cooked sausage. I put half the stuffing mixture in the bottom of the casserole dish, and sprinkle the rest on top. I've also been known to add diced ham,cauliflower, or whatever I have on hand. My family looks forward to this casserole all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have to say that I didn't follow the recipe exactly - I halved it and subbed celery for carrots. Also I added the aforementioned pinch of garlic powder, and some leftover cheese on top. However, I thought this recipe was really good - you could tweak it by adding different veggies or herbs, and the addition of chicken or some other perhaps leftover meat would make this a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was great! I thought the zucchini might be bland, but it wasn't at all (it actually tasted a lot like broccoli...). I used 5 C of zucchini, about half of a massive zucchini I was trying to use up. For the stuffing, use 5 C of stuffing mixed with 1 C of chicken broth. If it seems dry, don't worry - the zucchini releases moisture and the foil keeps it in, making it as creamy as can be. Try using 1 1/2 C of celery instead of the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The recipe was great, but I used Pepperidge Farm stuffing, changed to cream of mushroom soup. I also added 1/2 C of shredded swiss cheese and 1/3 C of Parmesean/Romano cheese. Also added a little more carrott. Got great reviews and smelled wonderful. If you added some chopped left over chicken, smoked sausage or ham it would make a really good main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
After following all of the the steps (also added a minced clove of garlic), and checking on the dish half-way through cooking time, the stuffing on the bottom and top was extremley crispy (perhaps b/c I used a package of Stove Top stuffing?). I gave it a few good stirs, put it back in for 1/2 an hr, and the end result was delicious! It would not work as a main dish alone, but would be great as a very filling side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was really good. I added mushrooms and it was great. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Another big hit recipe!!! I made it for Thanksgiving last year for the first time & there were no leftovers. I did add shredded carrots & mushrooms to make it a bit more "filling" to the tummy. I'll be making this one again for Turkey Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe!!!! I made this for a family dinner and everyone loved it. I made exactly as the recipe stated and I thought everything turned out delicious. I made ahead of time and popped it in the oven when I was ready. I will definately be making this for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I made this to go along with the slow cooked cranberry pork loin (from this site) and we really enjoyed it. My husband is not a huge fan of zucchini but he raved about it. The stuffing I used (Pepperidge Farm) stayed pretty hard but added a nice crunch to the casserole. Next time I make it, I'll try a diff brand of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Not fancy but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States