Zucchini Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've been making this casserole for a lot of years. The only difference is I parboil the zucchini and carrots until tender crisp, then cool and add pre-cooked sausage. I put half the stuffing mixture in the bottom of the casserole dish, and sprinkle the rest on top. I've also been known to add diced ham,cauliflower, or whatever I have on hand. My family looks forward to this casserole all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have to say that I didn't follow the recipe exactly - I halved it and subbed celery for carrots. Also I added the aforementioned pinch of garlic powder, and some leftover cheese on top. However, I thought this recipe was really good - you could tweak it by adding different veggies or herbs, and the addition of chicken or some other perhaps leftover meat would make this a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was great! I thought the zucchini might be bland, but it wasn't at all (it actually tasted a lot like broccoli...). I used 5 C of zucchini, about half of a massive zucchini I was trying to use up. For the stuffing, use 5 C of stuffing mixed with 1 C of chicken broth. If it seems dry, don't worry - the zucchini releases moisture and the foil keeps it in, making it as creamy as can be. Try using 1 1/2 C of celery instead of the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The recipe was great, but I used Pepperidge Farm stuffing, changed to cream of mushroom soup. I also added 1/2 C of shredded swiss cheese and 1/3 C of Parmesean/Romano cheese. Also added a little more carrott. Got great reviews and smelled wonderful. If you added some chopped left over chicken, smoked sausage or ham it would make a really good main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
After following all of the the steps (also added a minced clove of garlic), and checking on the dish half-way through cooking time, the stuffing on the bottom and top was extremley crispy (perhaps b/c I used a package of Stove Top stuffing?). I gave it a few good stirs, put it back in for 1/2 an hr, and the end result was delicious! It would not work as a main dish alone, but would be great as a very filling side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was really good. I added mushrooms and it was great. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe!!!! I made this for a family dinner and everyone loved it. I made exactly as the recipe stated and I thought everything turned out delicious. I made ahead of time and popped it in the oven when I was ready. I will definately be making this for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Another big hit recipe!!! I made it for Thanksgiving last year for the first time & there were no leftovers. I did add shredded carrots & mushrooms to make it a bit more "filling" to the tummy. I'll be making this one again for Turkey Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I made this to go along with the slow cooked cranberry pork loin (from this site) and we really enjoyed it. My husband is not a huge fan of zucchini but he raved about it. The stuffing I used (Pepperidge Farm) stayed pretty hard but added a nice crunch to the casserole. Next time I make it, I'll try a diff brand of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Not fancy but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States