Zucchini Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe! Personally my family and I preferred the seasoning to be in the dredge instead of inside the cake but that's personally preference. Don't make them too big cause they will fall apart too easily if you do other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I thought this was a great idea. I think next time I will make smaller patties. I felt that they were getting burnt before the middle was getting cooked. Flavor was good, a little heavy but would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! There are so many ways to change this recipe, too, as desired! Sometimes I leave out the seafood seasoning and skip the crackers and bake the patties. The possibilities are endless!!! Sometimes I add shredded potato and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These were great! My garden is bountiful and there are soooo many zucchini. These fooled my husband since he was sure that they must have crab in them. I will make these in a mini version and use them as a nibble the next time we have friends over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These are a great idea! I reduced the recipe to the amount of shredded zucchini that I had (about 2 c) but followed the recipe otherwise. Even with less to work with, there was way more than 5 cakes! And they fry up better and stick together better as smaller cakes anyway. I salted them before serving, which I do with crab cakes too. I will increase the Old Bay next time and look for a good sauce for them, but they're a great recipe to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
very good! i improvised with what i had and game out fantastic. used cajun spice rather than seafood spice and took out a lot of the water in the zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good, but I don't necessarily think they taste like crab cakes since there isn't any crab! Quite tasty though and I used corn flake crumbs instead of bread crumbs because that's what I had. I also used two eggs to make them hold together a little better. I didn't dip them in cracker crumbs either and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe! I have tried several zucchini cakes over the years, and this is my favorite by far. The only modifications I made were to use onion powder instead of chopped onion, and I used 1/2 cup bread crumbs and 1/2 cup cracker crumbs because I ran out of bread crumbs. I drained the zucchini very well before mixing with the other ingredients. I also had to add a little more oil to the skillet while cooking. These had great flavor, were crisp on the outside, and weren't as mushy on the inside as the other zucchini cakes I've tried. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
OK - I messed this recipe up a little and they were still fantastic! I had a large group here for my dad's birthday celebration this evening and with all the kids running around the kitchen and chatting/having fun, I scanned the directions quickly and threw everything in a bowl and mixed (including the crushed crackers). After noticing that the mixture was too dry to shape into patties, I realized my mistake and added an additional jumbo egg. With the large number of people, I had to double the recipe. I also made the cakes small to serve as a side. After shredding the zucchini, I placed it in a colander, sprinkled it with Kosher salt and let it hang out for awhile and allowed the excess moisture drain out. Before adding it to the other ingredients, I squeezed the remaining liquid out in a clean dish towel. All alterations worked out great. Everyone really enjoyed these and several did agree that they taste like crab cakes. Very flavorful and a great side or meatless main dish. Absolutely a "make again" here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used panko crumbs instead of butter cracker crumbs, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I let the "batter" sit about 20 minutes before I formed the patties to give the breadcrumbs a chance to soak up all excess moisture. My family loved these and I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States