Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent , moist cake. Made it milk free for a grandson with a milk allergy, simply by adding lemon juice instead of milk to the glaze. Baked for the full 80 minutes, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made exactly as written - it is delicious! I put the glaze in a plastic sandwich bag, and cut off the tip and drizzled the glaze over the cake for a perfect finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly as in the recipe. The only problem was the icing absorbed into the cake instead of hardening on the top, which wasn't a problem at all because it made the cake even moister! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Definitely love this recipe, the only change I made was 1 cup of butter instead of oil but still very moist. This is my first time making this yummy cake but for sure not the least, thanks for sharing it! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Good, moist .. but not very special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I tried to make this cake twice. The first time it never baked even after 90 minuted it was still gooey. I thought it was because I used cake flour because I was out of regular. The next time, it was still too raw after 90 minutes of baking with regular flour, although not as gooey. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Great recipe, works well in a Bundt pan too. However, baking time is way off- likely a typo. Should be 53-60 minutes maximum. Also would use cream cheese icing instead of glaze as glaze does absorb back into cake. I would add raisins,about 1 cup. I use olive oil. Additionally, I would add the dry ingredients into the wet and only mix until just incorporated. Very nice moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made this cake while my mom was recouping at my place after a knee replacement. It was GREAT!! I did change it to 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. and added 1 tsp of Ginger. I only beat the mixture till it was incorporated, NOT 2 min. The cake is so moist it gradually soaks up the glaze. So I would suggest disting with powdered sugar after placing a individual slice on a plate. Because after a few hours the cake would soak in any glaze or powdered sugar that would be on the whole cake. One thing for sure you cant complaine about a super moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Following the original recipe exactly gives a beautifully moist cake. There were just a few things I wanted to fix: the cake was much too sweet, had a somewhat dense texture for a cake, and the occasional fibers of pineapple sticking out looked slightly off-putting. After fiddling with the recipe several times, I stick to the following for an utterly sumptuous treat even my carbs-paranoid mother can't resist: using 1 1/3 cups brown sugar for a richer taste and less sweetness; 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon, ground ginger, and cloves; 1/3 cup olive oil; and 1 cup smoothly puréed pineapple and 1/3 cup puréed zucchini instead of crushed pineapple (the extra fruit substance compensates moisture for the reduced oil). But most importantly, do not over-mix the batter as the original recipe calls for. Two minutes with an electric beater is far too long; I gently fold in the egg mixture and sifted mixture until barely combined, like with all other cakes and sweet breads. Makes the texture so much more fluffy and tender. Now the uncontested family favorite, and easily among the very best baked desserts I have ever come across. The fragrance of the pineapple was a great idea - thanks Geri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I wish I could have given it more stars! I also did half applesauce and half oil ( i do that for my zucchini bread also) and no pineapples as I did not have any but it was wonderful without it. This is my new go to cake! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States